5770 Texture Errors

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by vogelhausdesign, Sep 27, 2010.

1. vogelhausdesign macrumors regular

vogelhausdesign

Hey everyone, so I'm testing my GPU(s) today and I'm noticing that my real world testing of the HD 5770 is much lower than reported by apple, and even slightly lower than reported by Barefeats.

I'd like to ask everyone here a few questions since I'm not an expert on GPU tech.

During a benchmark/Stress test I was running blu-ray and gaming at the same time when I noticed something off on my first gaming run of the 5770. I restarted my machine, let it cool off, and restarted my game (CoD 4MW) and I'm noticing a lot of broken textures.. boxes and walls are black.

To shorten this post, after 2 re-installs, complete overhaul of my configuration of the game graphically, nothing has changed..

Is this a driver/firmware issue? is it just 5770 support for CoD? or does it sound like I have a bad card? I'm getting really terrible performance out of this thing..

2. vogelhausdesign thread starter macrumors regular

vogelhausdesign

Nobody? update: it seems like where their should be shadow maps there is just black texture.. if anyone wants to help I can post screens

3. schulmaster macrumors member

@ Vogel: I can assure you it is not a CoD conbatibility isssue. I've played the whole series on ATI cards.
    What exactly was "off' before your first restart?
    Have you tried rolling back the drivers one revision? What drivers are you using?

4. vogelhausdesign thread starter macrumors regular

vogelhausdesign

I'm running mac version of CoD 4 MW online, I noticed that half of the textures used on boxes, walls, and crates were all just blacked out.. no texture at all. Re-installed the game twice, tried many different configurations within the game and I got nothing.. not to mention my FPS is embarrassing for a workstation card

5. goMac macrumors 603

6. vogelhausdesign thread starter macrumors regular

vogelhausdesign