5870 incoming... but MacBenchmarks is not working!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Caesar_091, Nov 23, 2011.

  1. Caesar_091 macrumors regular

    Caesar_091

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Italy
    #1
    Can somebody try to run MacBenchmarks under MacOS X 10.6.8 and the latest Steam client?

    I bought an almost new Apple ATI 5870 at less the price of the 5770... and I would like to run those benchmarks again on my nVidia 8800 before installing the new card (that was shipped yesterday... !?!)


    TIA
     
  2. Caesar_091 thread starter macrumors regular

    Caesar_091

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Italy
    #3
    Good morning, did you get your coffee? Take one more.
    Yours is the perfect example of a usefulness post.

    Find me just ONE SINGLE benchmark of 5870 card installed on a 1,1 MacPro with 3GHz CPUs in Barefeats pages(and probably, AFAIK, on the whole internet) and you will be my guest in the best restaurant of my home city.
     
  3. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #4
    Not exactly the 3.0GHz 1,1. But there is one for 2.66Ghz and 5 other MacPros here:
    http://www.barefeats.com/wst10g7.html

    I've never looked at those benches on that site, but you can do benches in many apps and games.

    Here are some thread with benches you can compare against:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=360875
    http://novabench.com/
    http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/17087/opengl-extensions-viewer

    Hope this helps!

    You could also run win in bootcamp and run 3dmark06 and 3dmark vantage for free
     
  4. Caesar_091 thread starter macrumors regular

    Caesar_091

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Italy
    #5
    Thanks for your answer but I haven't run those bench with the previous video card so I would not get something which let me quantify the gain obtained.

    My original aim was that to realize if Barefeats results where CPU bounded instead of PCIe bounded.

    I believe (I want to believe! :p) that main bottleneck in Barefeats tests was the CPU clock (2,66 vs 3GHz) along with the sadly bad optimization of Mac games (vs Windows). This is why I would like to run the same test on the same computer with two different video cards, once o MacOS and than on Windows.
     
  5. cluthz, Nov 25, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2011

    cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #6
    Oh I was under the impression you had the old card still.
    The difference between the 2.66GHz and the 3.0 GHz will be some, but not much.

    Anyways, if you find older benches with 8800GT and a MacPro 1,1 there would most likely be with older drivers, and drivers does matter too.

    If you need exact comparison, you'll have to do the tests with same drivers in the same machine.

    The macbenchmark site you posted, just seems like a little blog, that has only been active for one month back in 2010.

    Suffice to say, the 5870 is a giant step up from the 8800GT and just enjoy it instead of focus on exact percentages gain.

    anyways:
    Why don't run the barefeats tests and compare against those results?

    Anyways, for some reference, my hack reaches 18600 points in 3dMark06 and 11200 in 3dMark Vantage,
    you should beat those by a decent margin, unless there are some bottlenecks.
     
  6. Caesar_091 thread starter macrumors regular

    Caesar_091

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Italy
    #7
    I still got the old card but I don't want to reinstall it :)

    Yes but their script was a very good way to bench CPU/GPU (even if with old games).

    You're right... and I'm really enjoyng it since day #1 ;)
    But you know that human being loves numbers... I believe is something inside our DNA :cool:

    They use their own demos recordings... I've asked RobArt for those timedemos since I own a few games that they use for Mac benchmarking but I never get an answer :rolleyes:

    LOL :)
    Erlier today I've rebooted into bootcamp (Win7 Pro 64bit) after almost 10 months... al lot of update to apply and after a few reboots Windows can't start anymore (BSOD)... will try a fresh install later these weeks.
     

Share This Page