5G ipod sync problems, possibly related to Alpine car stereo?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by mopppish, Aug 2, 2007.

  1. mopppish macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    #1
    Hi, all.
    I have one of those Alpine car stereos from last year that was the first to have the ipod interface built-in (aside from the $30 cable).
    It works great, and I never had any problems with my 60GB 5G ipod or stereo, but it seems that for the last several months, every time I connect my ipod to my computer AFTER using it in the car, it gets to the "do not disconnect" screen, and then nothing happens (doesn't mount, doesn't sync). If I reset the ipod and try again, it works fine.
    Has anyone had any problems like this?
    For the record, I have already done a restore on the ipod and have not had any other problems with either unit.
    Thanks.
     
  2. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #2
    I've had my Alpine deck for close to a year and a half now, using it exclusively with a 5G iPod, and I haven't had one problem. Syncs perfectly. I'm sorry to hear you're having trouble. Hopefully someone here can help you out. If you find a solution, be sure to post it here.
     
  3. yotaguy macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    #3
    I have had both alpine ipod hookups.. the KCA420(i think) on a CDA 9805

    and the newer full speed one on a CDA9857

    I have used both of them with a 4th 40gb and 5th 60gb ipod

    never had a single issue..even in extreme hot and cold temperatures.
     
  4. mopppish thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    #4
    Weird.
    I've never had a problem with the Alpine + ipod working together. Just in syncing the ipod without a reset. Maybe it's actually my comp?
    Guess I'll try another restore and see what happens.
     
  5. Arinya macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #5
    Me too

    This has happened to me twice! After I get an error message on my iPod (PC formatted for my PC at home) it freaks out when I plug it into my Mac at work. It won't read it and then if I eject it and plug it back in to my Mac all my playlists are gone and my music is gone! There are gigs of info (used to by my music) but it will no longer play any of my music!

    Is it the radio or my Mac? Another thing, the day it happened it automatically renamed my iPod Radio so I think it has to be the radio that is screwing up my iPod.

    By the way I have a 30GB Video iPod.
     
  6. parrothead macrumors 6502a

    parrothead

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonds, WA
    #6
    I have had a few problems like the original post. I use the Alpine deck with a 3G iPod and a 5G iPod. I think the main problem is probably in the deck itself and the way it talks to the iPod. As long as a manual reset works to get the iPod going again, I wouldn't worry about it. If it really starts giving you problems, contact Alpine.
     
  7. shifra macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #7
    Synch/Searching Problems

    I was able to "fix" this problem by using the firewire to ipod connection on my computer. Then I have no problems when connecting the iPod to the car radio. Seems like there is a problem with the USB port.
     

Share This Page