5G iPod with 5.5G HD in it. (Error 1416)

Discussion in 'iPod' started by JMonteith85, Apr 21, 2008.

  1. JMonteith85 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #1
    I bought a 5G 30GB iPod around christmas 05. Recently, the HD failed after i dropped it.

    Fortunately, my girlfriend had a 5.5G 80GB with a broken screen that she was using for back ups.

    She gave me the iPod so that i could maybe use her HD in my iPod. I cracked them open and used the Screen, scroll wheel, motherboard from my 5G 30gb, and the HD and battery from her 5.5G 80gb.

    After i put the two back together here is what happened:

    I started up the iPod and the apple logo appeared. Shortly after, a screen saying "Connect to your Computer. Use iTunes to Restore." in about 5 different languages.

    I connected it to my computer, then a message in iTunes showed up saying "iTunes has detected an iPod in recovery mode. You must restore this iPod before it can be used with iTunes."

    I then clicked Restore and entered in my Administrator name and password.

    Shortly after that, an alert popped up saying "The iPod "iPod" could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (1416)."

    This is where I'm stuck. I'm hopping that there are some people on this forum much smarter than i am and who are also willing to help me out.

    Let me know if i can describe anything further to give people more information about my problem.

    Thanks to anyone who can help!!!
     
  2. Dino451 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #2
    Did a google search and found this. hope it helps.


    Replacing the hard drive in my 4G 40GB iPod (my replacement one was stolen out of my car, and the car connector only works with 4G units, so resurrecting this one was called for) was a snap. I purchased an 'opening kit' from PDASmart along with the drive; for $3 I got four separate miniature screwdrivers and three plastic 'opening tools' - basically very thin-ended wedges. No problems.

    When I plugged it into iTunes, it came up fine and asked me to name it, then started eagerly shoveling music onto the little white bugger. I figured I'd like to restore it to factory settings, so I told iTunes to do that. It thought about it for a while, then produced this message: "Unable to restore. Unknown error (1416)." While the iPod seemed to work, every time it booted it flashed the 'support URL' message before continuing with the boot.

    Solution: don't use iTunes to restore it. Download and run the 'iPod Updater' and use the 'Restore Factory Settings' option first, then update the firmware as required. That did the trick; Gir is all happy now.
     
  3. JMonteith85 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #3
    Do they still have the iPod updater software? I thought they switched it all over to iTunes with the 5G?

    That problem is a little different than mine in the sense that he was able to get music on it.

    Thanks for the help though! Anyone else want to take a stab?
     
  4. Dino451 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #4
    if you search google you will find a download for the old updater.
     
  5. JMonteith85 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #5
    What I was saying is that the updater didn't update software for the video iPods. It was only for the 4G iPod photos and prior.
     
  6. techlover828 macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #6
  7. JMonteith85 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #7
    I'll have to hunt down a windows box and give that a shot. I'll try anything right now! Thanks to you guys.
     
  8. clarkcamp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #8

    I'm in the same boat as you... Franken-iPod.
    5.5g HD and Screen going into a 5g iPod.

    Im getting the same errors as you

    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1421052&tstart=0

    hobbsit_atx seems to have the best response in that thread, it worked for at least a few people, though it didn't work for me.

    good luck
     
  9. mosx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    #9
    You'll most likely need to use the motherboard from her 80GB 5.5G iPod and just the screen from the 5G iPod. The 80GB had a different motherboard than the 30GB iPods from that generation. The 30GB boards had 32MB of RAM while the 80GB board had 64MB of RAM so that might have something to do with it.
     
  10. Habitus macrumors 6502a

    Habitus

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Where ever my life takes me...
    #10

    Why not take the motherboard from the 80GB and put it in your 30GB?

    Habitus :apple:
     

Share This Page