5GB swap used

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Tex-Twil, Jun 13, 2012.

  1. Tex-Twil, Jun 13, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2012

    Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #1
    Hi,
    I have a MBP with 4GB RAM and I see that I have a lot of swap memory used (4-5GB). Does it mean I should get more ram ?

    cheers
     
  2. Bear, Jun 13, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2012

    Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #2
    The answer is probably. Are you noticing performance issues. If you're not then it doesn't matter, however, with that much swap used, you should probably have 8GB of ram with a chance that more than 8GB will help your performance.
     
  3. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #3
    Yes I am. I have XCode, iPhone Simulator and other apps (Mail, Chrome, Terminal) running and I'm getting a lot of "slow downs": beachball rolling, mouse not responding. We've got the MBP a couple of months ago at work but I started using it only now so the system (Lion) is fresh.
     
  4. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #4

Share This Page