5K iMac - bad GPU? (M295X)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by andy9l, Dec 27, 2014.

  1. andy9l, Dec 27, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2014

    andy9l macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #1
    Hi all,

    Edit: Anyone suffering the issue - please post a photo!

    Started up my 5K iMac for the first time on 25 December and have loved every minute, until yesterday.

    I was sorting out network drives and time machine yesterday and after the first back up, I entered time machine. This is what I was greeted with (not my photo, one I found on Internet, but it's identical):

    [​IMG]

    Now if I take a screenshot, it's fine - suggesting a hardware fault. However, there seems to be a number of people suffering from this exact issue (see replies):

    https://twitter.com/shawnblanc/status/527878283241615360

    Is this a bad GPU, or is this fairly common. Driver issue perhaps?

    No matter how hard I push the GPU, it seems flawless EXCEPT in time machine.

    It's a 4GHz i7, 24GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 4GB M295X.

    Thanks for any help/advice. If there's any chance it's a hardware fault, it's going straight back to Apple for full refund. Well within my 14 days.

    Cheers
    Andy
     
  2. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #2
    not a hardware/gpu problem. its related to yosemite
     
  3. UniDoubleU macrumors regular

    UniDoubleU

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Location:
    Thailand
    #3
    I've just tried that with Time Machine. Thankfully doesn't happen on my iMac 5K. Yeah, this doesn't look like a GPU problem. Just another bug on the long list in Yosemite's faults.

    I do hope we have another solid OS X like Snow Leopard (Yosemite Winter? :p), the Golden Era ended just after free updates. There's good parts and bad parts.
     
  4. andy9l thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #4
    Thanks for the replies folks. Anyone else care to chip in?

    @Serban, how do you know this? Is it common?

    I'm really hoping this is a Yosemite bug, not a GPU fault. My screen is a good one - don't want to risk a replacement!
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    OP wrote above:
    [[ No matter how hard I push the GPU, it seems flawless EXCEPT in time machine. ]]

    You're saying this happens ONLY with Time Machine?

    NOWHERE else?

    And you've checked EVERYWHERE else?

    Could it be something wrong with TM?

    How often do you expect to actually -use- TM, anyway?
     
  6. andy9l thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #6
    Exactly, I don't know where else to check!

    I can run several movies in multiple windows, mission control spam it, do all of that and there's no glitches - go into TM and there it is.

    If it is a TM bug, I couldn't care less, but if it's a GPU issue, then I couldn't care more.
     
  7. retinaimac macrumors member

    retinaimac

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Location:
    On the World
    #7
    had my retina imac for several days now and same issue. problem only shows in time machine and only after dragging the cursor around a bit
     
  8. andy9l thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #8
    Ok, that is at least some reassuring news that it's not just me.

    Any chance you could put up a photo (not screenshot)?
     
  9. andy9l thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #10
    Thanks for the photo.

    Very similar to mine, but I don't have the small squares to the left.

    Are you using the M295X?
     
  10. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #11
    My 5K iMac has done this since day one. Yosemite is just very, very buggy. That's all.
     
  11. retinaimac macrumors member

    retinaimac

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Location:
    On the World
    #12
    no using m290x. the squares appear when moving the cursor, almost like im shading in photoshop or something
     
  12. andy9l thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #13
    Interesting that it's happening on the M290X too.

    The fact that when you screenshot it shows a perfect screen suggests to me that it's a hardware fault. Isn't that the general rule of thumb for GPU issues?

    ----------


    Are you using M295X? Had any other graphical glitches anywhere else?

    Sorry if your iMac is in your sig - I'm using Tapatalk.
     
  13. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #14
    From the screenshots posted above, I'm going to take a guess that what folks are seeing is NOT a problem with the iMac's graphics, but represents something (a glitch, a bug, a programming oversight) limited to Time Machine itself.

    I don't have one of the new iMacs, so I can only post regarding what I've seen above.

    Has ANYONE with a new iMac seen a similar screen glitch using ANY other app?

    Something to try by anyone in the forum:
    Go to the nearest brick 'n' mortar Apple store, go to the new retina iMac on display, summon up Time Machine, and see if the glitch exists there, as well.

    If so, I doubt exchanging one's current iMac for another is going to "fix" it...
     
  14. andy9l thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #15
    But a screenshot shows no problems - it's only the display that shows the issue, hence the photos.

    I'll book a Genius appointment, if I can, and see what they say. The more I look into it, the more this seems like a hardware fault with our GPUs.

    Anyone suffering the issue please post a photo.
     
  15. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #16
    I had the same symptoms when using Time Machine on my retina Mac. But it has been fixed in the current OS X version I am running (which is 10.10.2 developer preview). I'd suggest that you wait until 10.10.2 comes out officially (should be soon enough) and see if it will remedy your problem.
     
  16. gtvyt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #17
    What he said....

    Probably only a Time-machine issue
     
  17. steve23094 macrumors 68000

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #18
    This happens on my R9 M925X and 650m since upgrading to Yosemite. It's not a GPU fault.
     
  18. andy9l thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #19

    Ah that sounds promising, thanks for the info. I'm covered by AppleCare, so I wouldn't be in too much trouble if I waited out 10.10.2.


    Thanks Steve, this is massively reassuring. Any chance you could post a photo or two? I just want full assurance that this isn't a hardware issue before my 14 days runs up. I appreciate this isn't your problem, so I'm not holding you to it!
     
  19. GatorGhost macrumors regular

    GatorGhost

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    #20
    I did not see in the thread if anyone mentioned turning on and off the transparency in Yosemite and restarting? Just a wild thought that has no technical know how.
     
  20. largefarrva macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    #21
    Same here. Doing it on both my iMac with the 295 and my rMBP with the 650m. Not worried one single bit....it's a software issue.
     
  21. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #22
    I have a 295. This is not a hardware issue.
     
  22. andy9l thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #23
    That's a good idea - I'll try it later when I'm back home and report back.

    That's reassuring - somewhat. Any chance of a couple of photos?

    It definitely is sounding more like a software/driver issue now since there's a fairly substantial number of people here now with the same issue. It's really odd for a software issue, though. Screenshots do not show what the display is showing. That's normally cause for concern.

    Just to be clear, I'm not disagreeing with you, I'm just concerned.
     
  23. largefarrva macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    #24
    No need for any pics. It would look exactly like yours in the OP.
     
  24. andy9l thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #25
    So I realise I've been asking for photos from people but haven't put my own up. Here's my 5K iMac in Time Machine...

    Sorry about the quality, but you get the gist.

    I'd really like to get some photos of a 650m or any other machine with the same issue.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page