5th Gen Airport Extreme issues

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by supernet33, Feb 14, 2013.

  1. supernet33 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #1
    So I had a 4th gen APE and it worked great but I got a new 5th Gen APE for a gift....

    My internet was going really really slow, speed tests were .05 down... but the wifi connection strength is perfect...

    I use my MBA and on the 5Ghz and speed tests are great...

    So I change the channel on the 2.4GHz to channel 10 and speeds are great on the iPhones and iPad... I change back to automatic and speeds are crappy again...

    Could it be the APE is bad? How come my 4th Gen worked perfect on automatic but not the 5th?
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    Do you have interference robustness enabled? There could be a lot of other people near you (maybe) that have routers on the same band. Are you using Airport Utility 5.6 so you can still use the advanced features?
     
  3. supernet33 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #3
    Thanks, I tried to install it but it is saying I can't since I have ML..

    I don't think i can enable interference robustness with the new air port util :(
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #4
    Hmmm... that stinks. I have it on my iMac which has Mountain Lion, but I installed it when Lion was on it so it got migrated. I just tried to install it on my new MBP with ML and got the same thing you did. That's unfortunate because the new AirPort Utility isn't very good lacking the advanced settings.

    Edit: Do this; I just did it and it works. :)
     
  5. supernet33 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #5
    Thanks, Where is that setting?
     
  6. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #6
    Here it is...

    [​IMG]
     
  7. supernet33 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #7
    HRMM I don't have that :(
     

    Attached Files:

  8. SandboxGeneral, Feb 14, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2013

    SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #8
    Okay that is odd. I have a 2nd generation AEBS. I wonder if Apple changed the newer ones and removed that feature.

    Edit:
    Looking at some discussions on the Apple Support Communities forum, it sounds like this option was dropped with the 4th gen AEBS.

    Here are some tips from Apple on how to minimize interference:

    AirPort and Bluetooth: Potential sources of interference
     
  9. supernet33 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #9
    Thanks for trying....

    Could it be this Airport is bad?

    Doesn't the automatic pick out the best channel ???
    Like I said my old 4th gen was perfect..
     
  10. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #10
    See the edit in my last post.
     
  11. supernet33 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #11

    Thanks but what I don't get is my signal strength is perfect, great... but when i surf the internet or do speed tests it's complete crap..

    And like I said, the 4th gen worked perfect.... in the same spot.. So far i miss my 4th gen, i wish i didn't sell it :(
     
  12. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #12
    Is there any reason you can't leave it on 2.4GHz channel 10? You said that setting worked great right?
     
  13. supernet33 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #13

    Channel 10 worked great, but then went slow again!!! now channel 4 is way better, but I had to disable "use wide channels" (look at attached pic from post)..

    I just don't get it at all why my 4th gen worked great but this newer improved 5th gen sucks.


    Also another thing, i checked under system profile, wi fi, what other people are using the same channels i was using and 1 other person is but very weak signal.. AND i used a channel that no one was using and still slow speeds
     
  14. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #14
    How long before the speed goes from good to poor? Can you post some numbers on those speeds? Do you have an Ethernet adapter for you Air or another computer you can hook up via Ethernet? If so, do they experience the same slow speed over the wire?
     
  15. supernet33 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #15
    About 1-2 min, but seems stabled now on channel 4..
    Ethernet works great, just 2.4Ghz wireless is slow.
     
  16. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #16
    Let's hope it stays that way. Good luck!
     
  17. supernet33 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #17
    Thanks, do you have any idea why my 4th gen was rock solid and this one isn't?
     
  18. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #18
    No I don't, I can only speculate.

    Perhaps there is something wrong with it, or maybe Apple changed the way the AEBS works in some way or maybe your old had interference robustness turned on whereas this one doesn't have it at all.
     
  19. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #19
    There are a number of factors with wireless that depend on who your wireless neighbors are. Not much you can do about that, unfortunately.
     
  20. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #20
    One year old thread. It's from Feb 2013. Not 2014.
     

Share This Page