6.1 Ringer Problem

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by Jab00, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. Jab00 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Boulder,CO
    #1
    So I just updated to 6.1 this afternoon and found a really strange problem. The custom ringtone I have had set on my phone for months now (still set) no longer is the ringtone that does off when I get a call. I tried reseting it and was just curious if anyone else has had this problem or knows what to do?
     
  2. Sylon macrumors 68020

    Sylon

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan/Ohio, USA
    #2
    I am having this exact same problem. I got a few calls today and my custom ringtone never rang. It was always the default jingle.

    Running iOS 6.1b5
     
  3. Jab00 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Boulder,CO
    #3
    Yeah its the exact same thing for me! I'm on the public 6.1 release :(
     
  4. Vudoo macrumors 6502a

    Vudoo

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas Metroplex
  5. Illest macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Location:
    Bay Area, California.
    #5
    I'm also on the 6.1 release and it isn't working for me either. I guess we just have to wait for 6.1.1 now... Haha.:rolleyes:
     
  6. Jab00 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Boulder,CO
    #6
    God I hope not... there is a reason I have a custom ringtone :cool:
     
  7. lelisa13p macrumors 68000

    lelisa13p

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA USA
  8. Jab00 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Boulder,CO
    #8
    I haven't. I mean the ringtone is still there in my phone and is selected to use for calls but it just doesn't work

    ----------

    Simple turn off and on seems to have fixed it for now
     
  9. lelisa13p macrumors 68000

    lelisa13p

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA USA
    #9
    What I meant by adding it again via iTunes was in the same way that reinstalling a cranky app can sometimes fix a problem.
     
  10. Sylon, Jan 30, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013

    Sylon macrumors 68020

    Sylon

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan/Ohio, USA
    #10
    I removed my ringtones from my iPhone via iTunes and then reinstalled them. Still having this same issue. My ringtones were purchased off iTunes originally. Not sure if that has anything to do with it.


    UPDATE: Ok, I changed my ringtone from one a purchased on iTunes to a different custom tone I uploaded to the phone myself. I then did a hard restart on the phone (held down the power and home buttons until the Apple logo appeared). Then I had a friend call, my custom ringtone worked. So I switched back to the iTunes ringtone and we tried again. Worked that time too. So, I don't know if it was the hard restart or the changing of the tone choice, but its working now.
     

Share This Page