6 digit code after resetting

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by michaels iphone, Dec 11, 2015.

  1. michaels iphone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #1
    i just bought a 5s from my freind after resetting the phone it is asking for a 6 digit number my freind has only ever used a 4 digit number and the phone wont unlock..can anyone help me../
     
  2. Edge1978 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    #2
    Unfortunately he had to have had a 6 digit code if it's asking for one.
     
  3. CNeufeld macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    #3
    Is it asking for HIS 6 digit number, or is the phone setting itself up as a new phone, and asking if you'd like to set up a new number?

    C
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    I agree, maybe the phone is just asking for you to enter a new passcode. You will know soon enough, when you enter whatever you like. It will then ask for you to re-enter the same code to verify the digits.
    The initial setup, after a restore, will ask you to make the passcode. It starts with 6 digits, but you can also click on the optional settings to change to 4 character, or some other custom setup with 6 characters (not just numbers)
    Maybe yours just needs to be reset again, through iTunes. Enter your own setup for the passcode then.
     
  5. duction macrumors 6502a

    duction

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    U to the K
    #5
    just format it and set it up as a new phone for your self.
     
  6. michaels iphone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #6
    thank eveyone for your replies. this may sound silly.. but do i need to put a sim card in first..i have asked my freind again and he swears he never had a 6 digit code, he reset the before he gave it to me..th ehome screen is like showing the the HELLO in different languages and if you slide it to the right it ask for a 6 digit code after resetting.. i am worried if i keep putting numbers in it will lock it out..!
     
  7. michaels iphone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #7
    i have attached screen shot of what the phone is asking..?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    Do a DFU restore, which will clear the login passcode. Easy process, but here's a video that will walk you through the process.
    This will NOT help if your friend "forgot" to tell you that the iPhone is iCloud locked.
    If the iPhone does not have a SIM card installed, you will likely need that. But, that shouldn't prevent logging in to your iPhone.
     
  9. michaels iphone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #9
    will try that now got a sim card now
     
  10. predation macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    #10
    i second the DFU restore. and when the phone asks for a new pin # creation, there is an option you can click and pick what type of code to create: 4 digits, 6 digits, etc...
     
  11. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware

Share This Page