6 HDDs in MDD

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MatthewLTL, Feb 25, 2015.

  1. MatthewLTL macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #1
    I was just cerious, Would it be Ideal or wise to make the MDD have 6 HDDs by using 2 HDDs (with 5.25-3.5 brackets) on the ATA33 bus in place of the Optical Drives?

    Out of testing the system I even booted Leopard with my HDDs hooked to the ATA33 bus and it didn't seem much slower.

    Any thoughts?

    Also anyone try 12 HDDs? 12 2.5 drives inside dual 3.5-2.5 brackets?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    There is no reason why you can't safely run it with 6 hard drives. You could run it with 12 as well, but you'd need a PCI interface card for 6 of them.
     
  3. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #3
    could the PSU handle it?
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #5
    Keep in mind that the PSUs on these machines were designed to drive large ADC monitors with accompanying USB devices attached over the AGP slot. So the draw of hard drives is not an issue.
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    The ADC displays are on a different 24V rail than that of the 12 and 5 volt drives.
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #7
    I figured I was missing something that you would be able to post. :D
     
  7. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    iBooks do not have PRAM batteries. True fact! ;)

    Oh…and OS X is based off of UNIX…not Linux. :D
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    It would appear that iBooks' lack of a PRAM battery is my legacy in the PowerPC section of MacRumors.
     
  9. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #10
    I knew both of those facts though...
     
  10. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #11
    LOL! Here's your cheese hat! :D :D
     
  11. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #12
    when you hook a fan up to the 5V and 12V lines its 7V power. Does this mean that HDDs are in fact, 7V or are they 17V?
     
  12. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #13
    Why thank you kind sir.
     
  13. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #14
    where is OF settings saved to then?
     
  14. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #15
    The HDDs use the 5v and 12v rails separately. An HDD could use 7 volts if it wants but I don't know of any HDD using 7 volts.
     
  15. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #16
    iBooks and 12" PowerBooks have a small capacitor which stores PRAM information rather than a battery. This is kept charged by the main battery.
     
  16. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #17
    As poiihy and Altemose have said, hard drives use both voltages and the clock and other settings are kept by the main battery and the small capacitor.
     
  17. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #18
    Is that the shot but wide component that looks like it is held in by a holder instead of soldered in, like a battery, but wrapped in blue warp like a capacitor?
    [​IMG]
     
  18. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #19
    I do not know.
     
  19. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #20
    how do you know which voltage a HDD or ODD is using at any given time?
     
  20. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #21
    Yes.

    They always use both.
     
  21. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #22
    But now I have been reminded :)
     
  22. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #23
    I think 12v is for the motor and 5v for the electronics. You can use a current meter to measure how much of each rail is flowing.
     
  23. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #24
    what was the point of the 3.3V line added to SATA connectors? and i have always wondered why are SATA HDDs 25pin power when the connectors are only 4 or 5 wires?
     
  24. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #25
    3.3v line is probably for newer technologies. No known HDD uses the 3.3v line but maybe SSDs use them.

    SATA power plugs have many pins because they need multiple pins for power because one pin is too small. I think each power wire uses 3 pins or something like that. Also a few more pins are used for hot-plugging technologies.
    http://superuser.com/questions/98274/why-are-there-so-many-pins-on-a-sata-power-connector
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page