64-bit Blender?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by ppc_michael, Jan 24, 2008.

  1. ppc_michael Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    Does anyone know if there will ever be a 64-bit version of Blender for Mac OS X? The only one they have at the moment is for Linux. I'm anxious for it. :)
     
  2. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #2
    Hopefully the next version will be 64bit capable. I would assume that it would be Leopard only when it does come out though.
     
  3. ppc_michael thread starter Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A93 Safari/419.3)

    Thanks! This will provide a performance boost right?
     
  4. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #4
    Not really. Just means it can use more than 4GBs of RAM. There may be a small increase in speed with the increase in available registers on Intel machines but that is negligable.
     
  5. ert3 macrumors 6502a

    ert3

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    #5
    Technically it means you can use 3.2 gigs of ram and above as the literal cut off point for 32bit is 3.2 gigs though yes the theoretical cut off is 4gigs
     
  6. LeviG macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #6
    Beg to differ on that. 64bit can improve performance (when coded properly in 64bit) by anything upto 25%.
    I saw around a 50% performance boost going 64bit with 3ds max (admittedly with a version upgrade to but it wouldn't all be down to that) on windows.

    Nehalem the next cpu from intel is supposedly even better for 3d than previous chips too.
     
  7. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #7
    Its opensource, if you want it 64 bit compile it 64 bit. Though this is obviously majority over simplification there is bound to be a geek somewhere that has done this or can do with for you until an official version comes out.
     
  8. ksgant macrumors 6502a

    ksgant

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago
    #8
    I know this is an old thread that I'm resurrecting, but does anyone know of a project that's trying to convert the Blender code to cocoa?

    From what I understand, this isn't a simple case of recompiling to 64-bit...or even something with extensive knowledge of programming could just convert. It has to be a total re-write of the code to cocoa to become 64-bit.

    I've searched a bit and can't seem to find any info as to whether they're actively working on this. Does anyone know?
     
  9. opeter macrumors 65816

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    #9
    I know, Blender 64-bit is available for 64-bit Windows and Linux.
     
  10. kepardue macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #10
    To bring up an aged thread...

    Now that Snow Leopard is out, does anyone know if the Blender guys are working on a 64-bit Mac OS X version of Blender? Hopefully, one that takes advantage of OpenCL as well?
     
  11. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #11
    Leopard supported 64bit apps as did Tiger. The OS being Snow Leopard wont change anything and it will be a long time before OpenCL is considered for blender and unlikely to ever be a priority.
     
  12. kepardue macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #12
    I thought that Tiger only supported 64 bit command line apps?

    Nonetheless, that would make one think that the Blender team would have already put much effort into making a OS X-capable 64-bit build. Hard to see a reason why they wouldn't have.

    Grand Central I can understand since Blender is already designed to use multiple threads efficiently, but why would OpenCL not likely be a priority for them? It would likely bring significant performance improvements and, since it's an open spec, would also apply to alternate platforms so long as the driver supports it. And ATI and NVidia are both on board.
     
  13. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #13
    Last time i did a render i did it over 20 desktop computers with core 2 duo 1.8 GHz and no GPU's. Now i do not know if OpenCL is something that can be farmed out to a inexpensive server cluster but don't think that is possible. Regardless there are question marks over the quality of the output.

    In regard to 64 bit support it is true that Tiger only had support for command line apps but it is my understanding that rendering does not need a GUI and it is the rendering not the creation that you want to shove every ounce of power into.

    Also 64 bit brings less than you would imagine to a 3D program, there already using hundreds of gigabyes of ram and many processors so its really just for the client level stuff that 64 bit takes effect.
     

Share This Page