64 bit kernel

Discussion in 'iMac' started by newuser2310, Feb 27, 2010.

  1. newuser2310 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #1
    As of last night I switched to the 64 bit kernel on my early 2010 21' IMac. I have noticed a significant performance improvement in all areas over using the 32 bit kernel that is loaded by default.

    You hold 6 & 4 at startup.

    Here's a link explaining it a bit more

    http://macperformanceguide.com/SnowLeopard-64bit.html


    I'm sure many of you already knew about this but thought it would be helpful for people who have just bought a new Mac.
     
  2. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #2
    Nice tip, and not all of us were aware that 32-bit was the default. For those wanting to jump up, I do recommend they read the cautions in the liked article closely.

    Another method for converting not mentioned is to use a System/UI manager such as MacPilot (don't know if OnyX or others offer the same).
     

    Attached Files:

  3. unixfool macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    Northern VA
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #5
    Some of us on older MBPs aren't able to boot 64 bit :(
     
  5. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #6
  6. unixfool macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #7
    Then this thread doesn't apply to you...newer hardware only. I've an older Macbook, so I'm in the same situation, but I also just purchased a new iMac, so I can actually give 64bit a spin.
     
  7. wilycoder macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #8
    For some reason this doesn't work on my 27" iMac.

    I tried it several times too. I'm not editing the plist until I can test it by holding the 6 and 4 keys.

    :(
     
  8. newuser2310 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #9
    I had the same problem, holding the keys for ages seemed to do the trick.
     
  9. unixfool macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    Then you aren't doing something right. It's as simple as holding down those keys when it's booting up.
     
  10. wilycoder macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #11
    I just tried again, and I started holding the keys down before my desktop disappeared from the reboot. I held the keys down until I saw my desktop again.

    64bit kernel and extensions: No
     

Share This Page