64 bit Leopard VS 32 bit Tiger ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by alebar14, Sep 3, 2007.

  1. alebar14 macrumors regular

    alebar14

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Auckland CBD, New Zealand
    #1
    Hi there,
    We know and we have been waiting for a new OS of Mac ,the most anticipating 64 bit version Leopard.

    I know i am not the only person here that having and proud to have an Intel Core Duo user which is only supporting 32 bit version of its OS.

    So what are the catch having a 64 bit version over 32 bit version ? Why if by any chances i should reconsider it twice? Is this because the marketing persuasion or is it because it's the right time to convert it ?
     
  2. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Tiger on Core 2 Duo's is partially 64-bit.

    Leopard will run just as well on 32-bit hardware as it will on 64-bit hardware. The only benefit of 64-bit (other than more memory) is that X86 processors are faster in 64-bit than 32-bit due to their design.
     
  3. Tracer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #3
    Leopard will run fine on all 32-Bit Systems.

    32-Bit Systems won't be able to run 64-Bit Apps which will be able to use more than 3GB of Memory.

    Tracer
     
  4. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    Well actually on a Mac the 64-bit apps should run fine on 32-bit processors, they'll just run a bit slower and not be able to access more than 3GB of ram or so.


    This is thanks to a good design decision by apple, but god knows if i know what it is :)
     
  5. Trepex macrumors 6502a

    Trepex

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #5
    What no. It's not just RAM. 64-bit architectures use 64-bit registers. You can't just run a 64-bit app on a 32-bit architecture without recompiling it. The OS itself may support 32 and 64-bit architectures but it won't be the same build.
     
  6. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    But because of universal binary both 32bit and 64bit versions of the app can easily be shipping in one "executable" which means for the most part people won't know that they are running one or the other.
     

Share This Page