64 bit version of MAC OS.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by imranpundeer, Jan 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. imranpundeer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    Is there any 64 bit version of MAC OS exists for
    10.3 (Panther)? and
    10.4 (Tiger)?

    Thanks,
    ip
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    It's all 64-bit compatible. There are no separate 64-bit versions.

    Snow Leopard will be the first fully 64-bit OS.
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    No. Full 64-bit begins with Snow Leopard.
    Edit: Tallest Skil is right about 64-bit compatible.
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    Even Jaguar... um...

    Okay, Panther added 64-bit compatibility in the retail box, but 10.2.8 would have had to have had some 64-bit compatibility because it ran on the PowerMac G5... right?
     
  5. imranpundeer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #5
    64 bit version of MAC OS.

    Hi Tallest skills and ggjstudios,

    Thanks for the prompt reply.

    That means we have 32 bits of Pather and Tiger OS which can run on 64 bit machine, but the 64 bit Panther / Tiger OS is not there.

    Is my understanding corrent?

    Thanks,
    ip
     
  6. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    No. They're as 64bit as any other OS of their time (other than server OSs and stuff). Apple does it different than microsoft, there are no versions of an OS (other than server/client) and Snow Leopard will have full 64bit support. As I understand it even 64bit Windows isn't as 64bit as Snow Leopard (not totally sure what that means).
     
  7. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #7
    It isn't? :eek:

    4…3…2…1… and Aiden Shaw comes in to tell us all off.
    ;)
     
  8. imranpundeer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #8
    64 bit version of MAC OS.

    what i mean by 64 bit OS is, if i take an interger variable in my program then its address should be 8 bytes not 4 byts as in the case of 32 bits OS. So does there exist Panther (10.3) / Tiger (10.4) os which can show me the integer as 8 bytes.

    thanks,
    ip
    newbie...
     
  9. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #9
    You should probably ask this in the programming forum below. Essentially, you have to set the 64-bit flag to TRUE prior to compiling your app for it to be 64-bit (at least with Leopard).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page