64 Bit Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Geoff., Dec 26, 2009.

  1. Geoff. macrumors 6502

    Geoff.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #1
    A few weeks ago i installed windows 7 64 bit onto my macbook that only has 2 GB ram.. everything went perfect apart from the fact that the the drivers etc on the leopard install disk didnt work since it was 64 bit but i got working after a lil googling :) Was just wondering is there any disadvantage of using 64 bit on my macbook specs ? Only thing i noticed is my battery life is kinda bad. Like is it a bad idea to use it ? Thanks
     
  2. Repo macrumors 6502a

    Repo

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #2
    64-bit shouldn't cause a problem for you. In fact, if you upgrade/add RAM to your laptop in the future, the OS will be able to take full advantage of it.
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Disable Aero or use Aerofoil to disable Aero on battery.
     
  4. Geoff. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Geoff.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #4
    I wont be upgrading the ram :p and i downloaded aerofoil there to help out the battery issue thanks :).. Also i only gave the partition 40 gig and i want to give it more now can i use a partition editor to do that or do i have to go through the whole process again ?
     
  5. hajime macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #5
    I think you can use iPartition.
     
  6. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    I think Disk Utility can non-destructively resize.
     
  7. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #7
    Only for HFS partitions. Windows 7 deals with NTFS.
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    Just consuming more resources then the 32bit version. With only 2gb of ram, there's really no reason or advantage to run the 64bit flavor
     
  9. Geoff. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Geoff.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #9
    To be honest i didnt even know it was 64 bit untill the error on the drivers on the leopard disk came up. The windows 7 disk was ____________________ that my brother got with his laptop that '_____________' :rolleyes:
     
  10. joe1946 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #10
    Are you saying you installed 64bit Windows 7 on your Mac using a Windows 7 reinstallation disk from a Dell PC ?
     
  11. Geoff. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Geoff.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #11
    Nope i didnt do such a thing :p Edited my post lol
     

Share This Page