660Ti and Wake from Sleep

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Pili, May 27, 2013.

  1. Pili macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando/Miami, FL
    #1
    Hello, I am only posting this as a last resort as I am all out of ideas and I would love to find a solution. I do use sleep quite often as I work from home and try to find any power savings where I can (plus, it's just annoying). I have a EVGA 660Ti and by all accounts, it seems that everyone's sleep issues have been solved by the new web drivers and 10.8.3, except mine. Will going through the trouble of reinstalling ML and restoring via Time Machine be my best chance at a solution? I am not sure if the problem will be restored with Time Machine.

    Specs:
    MP 3,1
    10.8.3
    Current Web and Cuda Drivers

    I have:
    • Reinstalled Combo Update (I assume downloading and running the installer is the correct way).
    • Cleared files via Onyx
    • Repaired Permission
    • Reset PRAM and PMU
    • Checked 3rd party 6pin cable with apple 5770 (no issues).
    • I know it's a different mechanism, but machine wakes from sleep in Win7 with no issues for what it's worth.
    • Apple 5770 wakes display/tower with no problems.

    Any help on this would be much appreciated as everything else runs as expected (no bootscreen etc.).

    Cheers,
    Alex
     
  2. BigJohno, May 27, 2013
    Last edited: May 27, 2013

    BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    I have heard restoring from time machine brings back the problems. What happens when you wake from sleep?
     
  3. Pili thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando/Miami, FL
    #3
    Bummer. It appears that the machine wakes but will not output a signal to wake the monitor. Also, unplugging/re-connecting the dvi cable post "failure to trigger" the monitor does not do anything. I've also tried 2 monitors with DVI-D and DVI-I and different cables. Thanks.
     
  4. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    Can you attach them through display port or hdmi?
     
  5. Pili thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando/Miami, FL
    #5
    Thanks for the tip, I tried HDMI out to a TV and that worked fine. I have to assume it is just an issue with the DVI outputs so a HDMI - DVI or DP to DVI adapter may be a solution. Not ideal but if it works, it works! Thanks!
     
  6. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #6
    I have a 670 attached to two Apple cinema displays. The 24" is on a mini dp to dvi port and it always takes about 5 seconds longer to wake from either sleep or the screen being turned off. The 27 is on the display port and that wakes immediately.
     
  7. Pili thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando/Miami, FL
    #7
    Gotcha, I ordered a DP to DVI-I cable for the first monitor and a DP cable for the other 27" as it has a DP input. I'll report back when they arrive. Thanks again for the help, I guess I figured the problem would manifest on all outputs, not just DVI.
     
  8. Pili thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando/Miami, FL
    #8
    Good News! The DP connector (both male male and male -> DVI ) wake the displays after sleep. Now my MP can sleep happy!
     
  9. Pili thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando/Miami, FL
    #9
    Back to square one. After working for a few days, it mysteriously stopped. The only clue I have is that I tried running one monitor off the DP and another off the DVI simultaneously. Waking while using only DP stopped working sometime after this. :(
     
  10. Pili thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando/Miami, FL
    #10
    Sorry to keep updating this thread by myself, but I want post the information for others if they run across this issue.

    I hooked the TV via HDMI again, out of curiosity, and low and behold, sleep worked via HDMI out. Tried the DP port next, and bam, sleep works again. No clue why this works this way but the HDMI definitely triggers something to work properly. I hope this helps some other frustrated users.
     
  11. prvt.donut macrumors 6502a

    prvt.donut

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #11
    I have a hackintosh with the same card and sleep works perfectly, I only connect via HDMI, so that might be why it works ok.
     

Share This Page