6750 and starcraft

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rachellarissa, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. rachellarissa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #1
    okay so i'm sure the 6470 256mb will not run starcraft with ease but will the 6750 with 1 gb run it well on the hi res 15'?
     
  2. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #2
    Yeah Medium at a very good framerate
    or
    High at a good framerate (non-competition)
     
  3. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #3
    The 330m runs starctaft2 at Ultra in Windows 7 pretty smooth( latest 330m drivers ). In OS X, high runs pretty well on the 330m.

    So the ATI 6750 should probably do Ultra in OS X with no problem.
     
  4. newbiemacguy128 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    #4
    Medium is already very playable with the 330M (with no slowdowns in big fights) in OSX, is the 6750 really not that much better?
     
  5. FriarNurgle macrumors regular

    FriarNurgle

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #5
    Wonder how it would run on the new 13" MBPs Intel 3000.
     
  6. Yebubbleman macrumors 68030

    Yebubbleman

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    The 6490M, unless worse than the GT 330M it replaces, should run SC2 on high with no problem. The 6750M should, as stated push really nice high settings or even decent Ultra specs. But I wouldn't know, I don't own the machines nor do I work for Blizzard on the StarCraft II Mac support team.

    Smoother on low settings than the Mid-2010 13" model, worse on medium settings.
     
  7. Primetime89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #7
    Yeah I'm interested in hearing if someone has tested the game on both OSX and Win7.

    I imagine the 6750 should be able to do ultra in Bootcamp Win7 but in OSX? Not so sure... :S
     
  8. rachellarissa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    deal is sealed then . haha im like definitely getting the 6750 my ancient desktop can only play it at medium max and laggy at times too gt9500 if you're curious
     
  9. Reclaim3r macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Location:
    PA
    #9
    I'm still trying to decide between the 6750 and 6490...

    If the 6490 can play Starcraft at the high settings, or maybe even medium... that would be ok for me. Although, getting the 6750 would make it a little more future proof.... Ahhhhh decisions.
     
  10. rachellarissa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    you're a student right? get the student discount! and take it as next year's upgrade haha
     
  11. tj616 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #11
    I just finished installing and running starcraft 2 on my new i7 15" 2011 and was able to run at 1440x900 with all settings on high and the frames stayed really solid. I was running in OSX. I will try to push the settings to ultra and get back with how well that works out.
     
  12. Primetime89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #12
    Future proof = can play Heart of the Swarm/Legacy of the Void? haha
     
  13. Primetime89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #13
    Is that 6490 or 6750?

    Also you can check the framerate with ctrl+alt+F (or maybe it's cmd-alt-F in OSX :S)
     
  14. tj616, Feb 24, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011

    tj616 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #14
    Sorry my model is running the 6750M Ill check the FPS and get back.

    Update: The FPS in a decent replay or game was about 30-40 fps. In cutscenes and on the ship about the same result. It never really dipped lower than 30 fps. Im sure in Win 7 you would be able to get better results. I never felt like it wasn't smooth or seemed to lag so I'm quite pleased with how it runs in OSX and I doubt I'll bother using boot camp and win 7 to play it.
     
  15. ChronoIMG macrumors regular

    ChronoIMG

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #15
    6750 all the way. There really isn't any other option unless it's a money issue.
     
  16. kpark42 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    #16
    The 6490m is actually a downgrade from the 330m :)
     
  17. Primetime89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #17
    was this on high or ultra?
     
  18. tj616 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
  19. Primetime89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #19
    Thanks for the info.

    Can anyone comment what the performance is like with high-res 1680x1050 and HD6750?
     
  20. Deliak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    #20
    1680x1050 and HD6750?

    I would like to know the performance of sc2 with high-res 1680x1050 and HD6750 both in OSX and bootcamp W7. :confused:
     
  21. Salacion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #21
    I have it on good authority that you can run Starcraft 2 on Ultra at a steady 30-60 fps.

    Just wait for the benchmarks, you'll see.
     
  22. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #22
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; nb-no) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Hm even though its in osx. 30 fps on high settings, is kinda a let down. The old fen mbp almost managed that. Oh well. Looking forward to windows gaming tests
     
  23. newbiemacguy128 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    #23
    Well all he said was "decent replay/game". Maybe he was playing "the fastest map ever" custom game. That would be impressive imo :p.
     
  24. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #24
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; nb-no) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Haha true
     
  25. Primetime89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #25
    that's win7 right?
     

Share This Page