6870 2GB showing as 1GB after ATY_Init.kext

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Yelpy, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. Yelpy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #1
    So I got the 6870 and it's a gr8 card, works beautifully with my Mac Pro 1,1. I applied the ATY_Init.kext thing thing and that all worked fine, Steam works perfectly etc... Though before I ran ATY_Init.kext with Kext Helper the card was showing as 2GB ram (as it should) in "About This Mac" but now it's showing as 1024MB ram. I presume that's just a false report due to the ATY_Init.kext being written for the 1GB version of the card and that the 2GB on my card is still available to my system right? Anyone know more about this? Cheers!

    BTW kudos to all those making these cards work on Mac Pro, it's amazing work and you're saving people a fortune. Gr8 stuff! :)
     
  2. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  3. Yelpy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
  4. Yelpy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #4
    Hey so I was doing some benchmarks with Cinebench and found this a bit odd. The graphics card got a 3 rating in Windows 7 but only a 6 rating in OS X 10.6.8 on the same machine. Anyone know why this might be? Is the ATY_Init.kext actually only making 1GB of VRAM available and that's why the card is scoring so low in OS X?

    I've also noticed in Windows 7 the Mac Pro is louder especially when playing a game, it gets real loud, all fans blasting! Hummm... :-/

    Have attached a screenshot of the benchmarks. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #5
    probably because the drivers in OSX suck :/

    it should still be much higher then 4870 even if only 1GB was used
     
  6. Yelpy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #6
    aww well that's a bit suckie to say the least! :(
     

Share This Page