6970 (925mhz) in 2,1 mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by gab1982, Feb 11, 2011.

  1. gab1982 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    #1
    Hi I have a MAC PRO 2007 2,1 edition, here are the specs:

    Model Name: Mac Pro
    Model Identifier: MacPro2,1
    Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 3 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 2
    Total Number Of Cores: 8
    L2 Cache (per processor): 8 MB
    Memory: 5 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.33 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: MP21.007F.B06

    I currently have 3x NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT in place and plan to keep 1 but sell 2 of the others.

    I play a lot of gaming via windows in bootcamp and want a new card:

    http://www.scan.co.uk/products/2gb-...gddr5-gpu-925mhz-1536cores-2x-dvi-2x-mdp-hdmi

    Will it work in windows?
    Will it work in OSX if flashed or whatever needs to be done?

    I want the card for gaming and I want to in the future use it to watch blu-ray 3d movies, play 3d games etc.

    My motherboard has 2 6 pin power plug holes and i see from the card it has 1 6 pin and 1 8 pin, i have seen a few convertor 6pin-8pin cables on ebay and if so would they work?

    thanks
    Graham
     
  2. neckarb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #2
    It will work BUT you need to cut the power to it when booting into OSX or the computer wont boot. As yet (as far as I know) you can't flash it to run in OSX yet.

    Power cable converters should be fine.
     
  3. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #3
    It won't work under OS X at all. Perhaps in the future, but not now.

    You don't need adapters. Just plug in two 6-pin cables and you'll be fine. I ran that way for months upon months with my own card.
     
  4. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    But do you need to cut power to the card when booting in OS X ?
     
  5. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #5
    I think you might be assuming I had a 6970, so let me be more clear about that – I had an ATI 4890. With a 6970, you could leave it plugged in (assuming you had a card that OS X would recognize also in the system), but you'd have to unplug the cable from the monitor and plug it into the other GPU every time you switched OSes, and under OS X the fan would run at full speed, IIRC. It isn't really a good solution.

    Were I in your position I'd go with a 5870.
     

Share This Page