6GB OWC Memory Photos

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by flyingscott, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. flyingscott macrumors regular

    flyingscott

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    I know, I know... this is just plain geeky, but I had to do it. :rolleyes:

    I just received 6GB of ram from OWC and am VERY impressed with the build quality. I'm the type of person who likes heavy, metal things... if that makes sense? And the weight of these modules has a nice feel. Very well constructed!

    So I had to snaps some pics.

    View them here


    If anyone is concerned with purchasing third party ram, don't be (as long as its from a good dealer). These are every bit as good as the stuff Apple ships (IMHO)
     
  2. samh004 macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Nice photos, your lucky to have that much RAM. Now put them to good use.
     
  3. flyingscott thread starter macrumors regular

    flyingscott

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    Thanks... that addition brings me to 8GB.

    Not sure that I'm lucky, any sucker with ~375.00 can have the same.. :cool:
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    I haven't seen pics of the ram with the heatsinks on them, holy moly they are huge.
     
  5. kittiyut macrumors regular

    kittiyut

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #5
    Nice photos, Thanks!
    Out of curiosity, why did you go with 1 GB sticks instead of 2 GB?
    This pretty much limits your future expansion, unless you get rid of
    what you just bought? :rolleyes::confused:
     
  6. flyingscott thread starter macrumors regular

    flyingscott

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #6
    I see your point, but I generally don't keep my machines long enough to do memory upgrades. When I purchase hardware, I try and find a sweet spot between price and performance, and this config worked out to be the best for my needs at the moment... 8GB should tide me over for a year or two.
     
  7. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    And heavy as well .... :eek:
     
  8. flyingscott thread starter macrumors regular

    flyingscott

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    YES... 91 Grams to be exact
     
  9. eMagine macrumors regular

    eMagine

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  10. deathshrub macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Christmas Island
    #10
    Then why the hell are you upgrading the memory?


    :confused::confused::confused:
     
  11. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    I was referring to all 8 of them ... :cool: LOL
     
  12. Jonny427 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #12
    LOL so if you don't plan on keeping your computer more than a year, you should not upgrade your RAM? :rolleyes:
     
  13. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #13
    you weighed them? now that is geeky.:D
     
  14. flyingscott thread starter macrumors regular

    flyingscott

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #14
    Ahhh... let me see, because Apple has crazy prices and 2GB is not enough for what I do.

    Not sure I understand the confusion....?
     
  15. Jonny427 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #15
    Wow 91 grams! 8 sticks is more than 1.5 pounds!
     
  16. flyingscott thread starter macrumors regular

    flyingscott

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #16
    All 8 = 1.6049653 Pounds... that is heavy!
     
  17. Jonny427 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #17
    ha you googled the weight like I did :cool:
     
  18. flyingscott thread starter macrumors regular

    flyingscott

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #18
    Actually, the converter widget did the math... very hand little widget

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #19
    Correct sir ... not many computers have more than half a kilo of ram .. :)

    But I suppose when you think of the weight of a Mac Pro, another half a kilo of "Go-like-Feck" ram doesn't make that much difference .. :eek:
     
  20. peejack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #20
    Thanks for these, they look like great build and quality heatsinks :)
     
  21. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #21
    Couldn't find this widget. URL?
     
  22. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #22
    It comes standard on leopard not sure about tiger it's called unit converter.

    To the OP: Enjoy that ram it will make a world of difference in your work.
     
  23. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #23
  24. flyingscott thread starter macrumors regular

    flyingscott

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #24
    Thanks for clarifying the name, I should have called it by its proper name to avoid confusion. It should have been preinstalled on Tiger and Leopard.
     
  25. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #25
    it's standard on tiger, at least i have it 10.4.11.

    i'd like to see all 8 sticks installed :D
     

Share This Page