6GB RAM worth it over 4GB on 07 Alu iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by powerbook911, Oct 27, 2010.

  1. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #1
    I have a September 2007 Aluminum iMac. The first aluminum model.

    It's great.

    I know I can now upgrade from 4 GB to 6 GB. However, will that give me performance increase, or will I notice decrease since I'd lose the dual channel or whatever the current terminology is.

    Many thanks for any advice.
     
  2. arnop macrumors regular

    arnop

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #2
    It depends on what you're doing with your iMac. If you're only browsing Facebook and checking your emails, you won't need 2g more. On the other hand, if you use Photoshop, iPhoto, Aperture and other large applications, don't hesitate to add these 2gs...
     
  3. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #3
    Let your activity monitor be the judge of that.

    If page outs are 20% or more of page ins then consider some more. (Not after a fresh restart, but after quite some time of everyday use)
     
  4. toxic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    #4
    if you're RAM-limited, dual/triple channel is meaningless. swapping to disk is hundreds of times slower, and dual channeling is only marginally faster.
     
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    You would only lose out on dual channel in the upper 2GB. Having said that, what are you doing that requires so much RAM? Check your page in/out ratio.
     
  6. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #6
    More RAM would allow you to give more memory to virtual installations using Parallels/Fusion (if you use them)
     
  7. Loono macrumors member

    Loono

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #7
    Thw 2007 aluminium iMac models have a 4Gb cap.
     
  8. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #8
    Actually they all unofficially support 6gb.
     
  9. CaneCollegeboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #9
    VM size 118 GB

    Page ins: 456.6 MB

    Page out: 1.0 MB

    Would that be a good candidate for a memory upgrade since i have the same machine?
     
  10. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #10
    Depends or not if that exemplifies a couple days of your typical usage. Is so, then no.
     
  11. sscotti macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #11
    How to upgrade to 6GB from 4Gb?

    How do you upgrade? I currently have 2 2GB sticks. You just swap out a 2 GB for a 4 GB? Any special instructions or restrictions?
     
  12. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #12
    None, just ensure the new DIMM is the correct specifications and that's it. I did mine 2 weeks ago and installed it in the right bank. I use Aperture and Fusion, both are snappier now.
     

Share This Page