6s Plus and 6s LTE issue

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by CBSubliminal, Oct 21, 2015.

  1. CBSubliminal macrumors 6502

    CBSubliminal

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    Hello all. I have a iPhone 6s plus ATT and my wife has a 6s ATT. When she makes outgoing phone calls i noticed her phone stays on LTE. When I make phone calls my 6s Plus shows 4G. Is this an issue? Both settings are on cellular and data for voice. Please advise. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Qbnkelt macrumors 65816

    Qbnkelt

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic
    #2
    Assuming that you're both making the same call from the same location there should not be a difference. Have you considered going to an Apple store so they can test reception there?
     
  3. CBSubliminal thread starter macrumors 6502

    CBSubliminal

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    Thanks for your response. I don't think it's a reception issue we both have the same amount of bars.
     
  4. Qbnkelt macrumors 65816

    Qbnkelt

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic
    #4
    Apologies. I should have been clearer. I meant to say to test the reception of LTE bands on both devices.
     
  5. CBSubliminal thread starter macrumors 6502

    CBSubliminal

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    If you have a 6s or 6s plus. When you make a phone call does your phone change from LTE to 4g on the indicator?
     
  6. Qbnkelt macrumors 65816

    Qbnkelt

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic
    #6
    No. It stays on. The only time I see a drop is where I've lost an LTE area.

    Edit: I've got a 6s Plus.
     
  7. mhoepfin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    #7
    Do a Reset Network Settings. This fixed my issues.
     
  8. CBSubliminal thread starter macrumors 6502

    CBSubliminal

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    Did a reset network settings, and made a phone call and still shows going from LTE to 4g when I make a phone call. I am at my job and we have a ATT antenna inside my building so I have a full 5 bars and full LTE.
     
  9. swordfish5736 macrumors 68000

    swordfish5736

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Cesspool
    #10
    Your phone will only stay on LTE during a call if the tower you are connected to supports VoLTE. Just because you have full LTE service at work doesn't mean it supports voice as well.

    Did you move your SIM card from an older phone to your 6S?
     
  10. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #11
    Her phone is using VOIP on LTE and your is not. It could be a setting on your phone or it could be ATT.
     
  11. CBSubliminal, Oct 21, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2015

    CBSubliminal thread starter macrumors 6502

    CBSubliminal

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #12
    Thank you for your response. My wife works in the same building and her 6s shows LTE when making an outgoing phone call.

    In regards to the Sim I believe I used the original Sim card that the 6s plus came with when I got the phone from apple.
     
  12. CBSubliminal thread starter macrumors 6502

    CBSubliminal

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #13
    Do you know how I can get VOIP on LTE activated?
     
  13. oneteam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, USA
    #14
    You need to contact AT&T. Is your iPhone an AT&T device, or an unlocked T-Mobile?

    I had the same issue after I replaced my iPhone 6 with a T-Mobile 6sPlus. When I received my new 6s Plus I just removed the SIM from my old 6 and started using my new iPhone. But AT&T didn’t recognize the new divide (as an AT&T device) and the settings on my account were changed. I noticed it when I logged into my AT&T account and my phone was listed as generic feature phone. I didn’t have WiFi calling, VoLTE and data connection was very spotty/slow.

    In my case, everything went back to normal after AT&T added the IMEI to their system.
     
  14. CBSubliminal thread starter macrumors 6502

    CBSubliminal

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #15
    I have ATT. Just called ATT long story short the IMEI in their system isn't showing the IMEI on my iphone 6s+. I basically did a next plan upgrade on my line a LG and gave the phone to my mother in law. So the system shows "parked" and it wont let him update the imei. So ATT tech has to escalate the issue to a upper level team to get everything updated.
     

Share This Page