6s plus cdma to gsm unlocking?

Pitt412

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 19, 2017
7
5
Hi, new to the forum. I have a 6s plus through boost mobile. I seen a few high rating sellers on eBay offering full gsm unlocking. Does anyone have any experience with unlocking a boost/sprint cdma phone to use on any gsm network? If so can I still go back to boost/sprint after unlocking or is only compatible with gsm? Also what is the worst that can happen if I give the eBay seller my imei?
 

eyoungren

macrumors Core
Aug 31, 2011
21,168
12,999
ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
Hi, new to the forum. I have a 6s plus through boost mobile. I seen a few high rating sellers on eBay offering full gsm unlocking. Does anyone have any experience with unlocking a boost/sprint cdma phone to use on any gsm network? If so can I still go back to boost/sprint after unlocking or is only compatible with gsm? Also what is the worst that can happen if I give the eBay seller my imei?
Do you mean you are trying an unlock service on eBay?

If so, I cannot really vouch for those services as I've never used them. The 6s/6s+ on Sprint/Verizon though is CDMA/GSM, so if you can get it unlocked it will work on all four carriers. It might not have all the frequencies for each carrier however.

There are a couple of people here who recently took advantage of Boost's SE promotion, turned around and unlocked the phones and then put them on their T-Mobile plans. I'd probably use whatever unlock service they used.

@Applejuiced What service was it you used for that?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Applejuiced

eyoungren

macrumors Core
Aug 31, 2011
21,168
12,999
ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
[doublepost=1492628061][/doublepost]Correct.
OK. Let's see what AJ (@Applejuiced) has to say. I'd go with whatever service he's used as he's done this several times.
[doublepost=1492628615][/doublepost]Ahh, here we go. He used Swiftunlocks. That would be swiftunlocks.com.
https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/kicking-the-tire-on-iphone-se-from-boost-mobile.2033606/page-3#post-24349831

Don't see a Boost listing on there so you may have to ask him where he found that.
 

nburwell

macrumors 601
May 6, 2008
4,581
1,615
DE
  • Like
Reactions: eyoungren

eyoungren

macrumors Core
Aug 31, 2011
21,168
12,999
ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
  • Like
Reactions: nburwell

nburwell

macrumors 601
May 6, 2008
4,581
1,615
DE
I just got an email from swiftunlock confirming the SE I purchased from Boost is now unlocked.

OP, if you use the link I provided in my previous post, you should be able to get your 6s Plus unlocked.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Applejuiced

Pitt412

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 19, 2017
7
5
Thanks for the link however, that site looks kinda sketchy. I would rather purchase one from eBay. Still waiting to see which one Applejuiced used.
 

eyoungren

macrumors Core
Aug 31, 2011
21,168
12,999
ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
Thanks for the link however, that site looks kinda sketchy. I would rather purchase one from eBay. Still waiting to see which one Applejuiced used.
Applejuiced used Swift Unlocks. :) I edited my post later on to show that.

@nburwell had used the same company as AJ did. It's a valid and safe unlock company. No worries.
 
Last edited:

Pitt412

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 19, 2017
7
5
Couldn't agree more. Swiftunlocks is legit. I got my SE up and running on T-Mobile when I got home today after receiving the confirmation from swiftunlocks that they were successful in unlocking my phone.
If I unlock the boost 6s plus and port to T-Mobile will my phone have wifi calling and volte? There are no options on my phone in the settings menu for wifi calling or volte.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Applejuiced

eyoungren

macrumors Core
Aug 31, 2011
21,168
12,999
ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
If I unlock the boost 6s plus and port to T-Mobile will my phone have wifi calling and volte? There are no options on my phone in the settings menu for wifi calling or volte.
I can't guarantee that as it's a Boost/Sprint phone.

However, I do know Sprint won't have VoLTE until about 2020 or so, which explains why you don't have it right now. As to why no WiFi calling, I can only speculate that's because of Boost.
 

Pitt412

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 19, 2017
7
5
I can't guarantee that as it's a Boost/Sprint phone.

However, I do know Sprint won't have VoLTE until about 2020 or so, which explains why you don't have it right now. As to why no WiFi calling, I can only speculate that's because of Boost.
I wonder if my phone will be updated with volte and wifi calling feature after porting my number to T-Mobile and doing a carrier update.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Applejuiced

eyoungren

macrumors Core
Aug 31, 2011
21,168
12,999
ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
I wonder if my phone will be updated with volte and wifi calling feature after porting my number to T-Mobile and doing a carrier update.
It might…IDK.

Recently, I replaced my wife's Sprint iPhone 5 and my own Sprint iPhone 5 - both for swelling batteries. For some reason, the Apple genius allowed me to choose my carrier both times when setting up the replacement phones. Of course I chose Verizon, because these are LTE capable phones and Verizon unlocks LTE capable phones.

That put both phones on T-Mobile (because they fully unlocked). They only get 4G, but both had the Personal Hotspot appear when the T-Mob SIMs were inserted. That's a carrier feature, so it's possible WiFi calling will appear when you put in a T-Mob SIM.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sunny1990

felipecross

macrumors member
Sep 26, 2008
32
17
San Diego, CA
I can assure you that swiftunlocks is a legit website as well. I have used their services several times in the past and it all worked out. I'm currently using a iPhone 7 on Verizon that I bought off the boostmobile website and had it unlocked by swiftunlocks. Go for it. They are on it! The boost mobile unlocks on their site is under the sprint unlock options.
 

nburwell

macrumors 601
May 6, 2008
4,581
1,615
DE
Disregard
[doublepost=1492691680][/doublepost]
I wonder if my phone will be updated with volte and wifi calling feature after porting my number to T-Mobile and doing a carrier update.
Going on what @eyoungren said, it's definitely possible that you could get volte and wifi calling once you unlock and port your number over to T-Mobile. That is one thing I did not try with my SE last night when I got home. I can certainly report back my findings later today.
 
  • Like
Reactions: eyoungren

Pitt412

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 19, 2017
7
5
Going on what @eyoungren said, it's definitely possible that you could get volte and wifi calling once you unlock and port your number over to T-Mobile. That is one thing I did not try with my SE last night when I got home. I can certainly report back my findings later today.[/QUOTE]

I would greatly appreciate if you can report back later today.
[doublepost=1492697078][/doublepost]
I can assure you that swiftunlocks is a legit website as well. I have used their services several times in the past and it all worked out. I'm currently using a iPhone 7 on Verizon that I bought off the boostmobile website and had it unlocked by swiftunlocks. Go for it. They are on it! The boost mobile unlocks on their site is under the sprint unlock options.
After doing more research it seems they are a reputable company. I will wait to hear back from nburwell about volte and wifi calling first.
 

Applejuiced

macrumors Westmere
Apr 16, 2008
40,650
6,403
At the iPhone hacks section.
Thanks for the link however, that site looks kinda sketchy. I would rather purchase one from eBay. Still waiting to see which one Applejuiced used.
I used my homie Swiftunlocks.
He came through within a few days.
I got a killer Boost mobile SE deal and I think I paid around $30 to unlock it.
Its fully unlocked now and worked fine with Tmobile, AT&T and Verizon.
[doublepost=1492724621][/doublepost]
If I unlock the boost 6s plus and port to T-Mobile will my phone have wifi calling and volte? There are no options on my phone in the settings menu for wifi calling or volte.
Yes, they will all work with no problems.
Its not like Verizon or Sprint that dont let you get all the features on their "cool" network because the device its not officially purchased for their network. Can you hear me now? :D
[doublepost=1492724668][/doublepost]
I can assure you that swiftunlocks is a legit website as well. I have used their services several times in the past and it all worked out. I'm currently using a iPhone 7 on Verizon that I bought off the boostmobile website and had it unlocked by swiftunlocks. Go for it. They are on it! The boost mobile unlocks on their site is under the sprint unlock options.
I told you son, you were starting to worry and get nervous :D lol
 

Hopeydopey

macrumors newbie
Apr 25, 2017
2
0
North Carolina
HI Please know I am basing bad decisions on your comments. I have read on other sites that swiftunlock was a scam. I have 3 phones that are currently with Sprint. I have 2 Samsung Galaxy s7 edge and 1 iPhone 7 plus. Today I visited a cricket rep and was told it would cost 65$ each unlock plus an additional $25 each for activation fee, this is why I am hesitant to use swiftunlock. I can't understand the price difference. Any help or input would be appreciated ... thanks

I can assure you that swiftunlocks is a legit website as well. I have used their services several times in the past and it all worked out. I'm currently using a iPhone 7 on Verizon that I bought off the boostmobile website and had it unlocked by swiftunlocks. Go for it. They are on it! The boost mobile unlocks on their site is under the sprint unlock options.
 

eyoungren

macrumors Core
Aug 31, 2011
21,168
12,999
ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
HI Please know I am basing bad decisions on your comments. I have read on other sites that swiftunlock was a scam. I have 3 phones that are currently with Sprint. I have 2 Samsung Galaxy s7 edge and 1 iPhone 7 plus. Today I visited a cricket rep and was told it would cost 65$ each unlock plus an additional $25 each for activation fee, this is why I am hesitant to use swiftunlock. I can't understand the price difference. Any help or input would be appreciated ... thanks
Why would a Cricket employee say anything about Swift Unlocks to you? Unless maybe they are doing this on the side themselves?

Swift Unlocks and other unlock sources are legitimate, but the process itself is controversial.

The way this works is that the unlock services have people they pay who work inside the carriers. These people manipulate the system to process your unlock without the knowledge of the carrier.

See here. AT&T, which owns Cricket certainly has no love for Swift Unlocks. They installed unauthorized programs on AT&T's systems to remotely process unlocks after hours when no one was present.

So, yes, they are legitimate, but you may disagree with how they do it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Applejuiced

Applejuiced

macrumors Westmere
Apr 16, 2008
40,650
6,403
At the iPhone hacks section.
HI Please know I am basing bad decisions on your comments. I have read on other sites that swiftunlock was a scam. I have 3 phones that are currently with Sprint. I have 2 Samsung Galaxy s7 edge and 1 iPhone 7 plus. Today I visited a cricket rep and was told it would cost 65$ each unlock plus an additional $25 each for activation fee, this is why I am hesitant to use swiftunlock. I can't understand the price difference. Any help or input would be appreciated ... thanks
They're legit bro.
But if you're nervous use pay-pal to pay them that has buyer protection coverage for 6 months.
Or use a credit card but no worries, they're the real deal.
 

Hopeydopey

macrumors newbie
Apr 25, 2017
2
0
North Carolina
Why would a Cricket employee say anything about Swift Unlocks to you? Unless maybe they are doing this on the side themselves?

Swift Unlocks and other unlock sources are legitimate, but the process itself is controversial.

The way this works is that the unlock services have people they pay who work inside the carriers. These people manipulate the system to process your unlock without the knowledge of the carrier.

See here. AT&T, which owns Cricket certainly has no love for Swift Unlocks. They installed unauthorized programs on AT&T's systems to remotely process unlocks after hours when no one was present.

So, yes, they are legitimate, but you may disagree with how they do it.
[doublepost=1493181814][/doublepost]hi. first let me point out i didn't mean to I AM making BAD decisions based on your words l... i am using talk to text... second of all the cricket employee did not mention swift unlocks. I found info for them online. the cricket employee just said they could unlock for this amount. thanks again very appreciated