7-10 sec boot slower after updating to 10.6.5

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by T4R06, Nov 10, 2010.

  1. T4R06 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    CT
  2. bcaslis macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #2
    I haven't installed yet, but is this after multiple reboots? Normally after an OS update it takes a couple of restarts to get back to normal speed.
     
  3. i7QuadCoreMania macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #3
    hmm 10.6.5 is out already? gonna try it when I get home, hehe, I have ssd on my i7 late 2009 imac, and gotta update my mid 2010 mac mini as well.
     
  4. T4R06 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #4
    i did like 4 reboot...
     
  5. tomacintosh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #5
    Just checked mine, it's stayed the same. Exactly 15 seconds from cold boot to a useable desktop :D
     
  6. shootingrubber macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #6
    Non-issue
     
  7. Dammit Cubs macrumors 68000

    Dammit Cubs

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #7
    i don't reboot and if i did, its not a big deal. I usually just keep my laptop on standby 99% of the time.
     
  8. hcho3 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #8
    I am waiting until I hear some bugs on 10.6.5

    I will wait until at least this weekend. I hear some security concerns on 10.6.5 right now with adobe. I am waiting.
     
  9. shootingrubber macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #9
    +1, especially the new Air's
     
  10. BENJMNS macrumors 6502

    BENJMNS

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #10
    so i'm not used to putting laptops to sleep mode. i take it u guys don't run into memory leaks or just programs bugging out from never shutting it down?
     
  11. tomacintosh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #11
    I hear you guys, booting is just a non-event with my computers these days, especially the Air!

    Updates are the only things that make me reboot.
     
  12. shootingrubber macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #12
    Nope, we never shut down any of our Mac's. Never had a problem. Sometimes they have stayed on for months without a shutdown.
     
  13. BENJMNS macrumors 6502

    BENJMNS

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #13
    very cool.

    i noticed that the vpn app i use... if i open up the book again... the software doesn't connect back automatically. i have to quit the app and restart it and it's not exactly the most responsive/reassuring experience.
     
  14. EspressoLove macrumors 6502

    EspressoLove

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #14
    I max my MBP with loads of crap, so I have to reboot like 2-3 times a week :cool:
    But otherwise I looove resuming from sleep, I've disabled safe sleep - lightning fast :p
     
  15. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #15
    Memory leaks are not common nowadays. You should be fine leaving it in sleep.

    After an update, all caches get cleared. It will take time to return to normal speed.
     
  16. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #16
    Nope, about 12-13 seconds here, same as before. 13" MBA 2.13
     
  17. EspressoLove macrumors 6502

    EspressoLove

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #17
    Then what do you make of this
    [​IMG]
     
  18. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #18
    How about posting the entire Activity Monitor window? That's not proving too much...

    If an app is using 1 GB+ of memory, then it's called a memory leak. Just because there is a high amount of page outs doesn't mean too much (just heavy usage).
     
  19. milan03 macrumors 6502

    milan03

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    #19
    Applications > Utilitties> Disk Utility > Select your drive > Repair permissions
     
  20. T4R06 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #20
    it went back to normal after i almost open all my apps. actually now feels much faster
     
  21. Dammit Cubs macrumors 68000

    Dammit Cubs

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #21
    there you go. now the world is safe again. enjoy.
     
  22. BENJMNS macrumors 6502

    BENJMNS

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #22
    mine's def slower post upgrade.

    i get that spinning slashes deal where i didn't before. what gives?
     
  23. EspressoLove macrumors 6502

    EspressoLove

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #23
    Well, I've never heard of a rule, that calls app that go over 1GB - memory leak.
    Yet you can take my word that both Firefox (3.6) & Shiira did go at least over 1.5GB on me, not even once ...

    Anyways:
    [​IMG]
     
  24. HoosierInFL macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #24
    Before the update I was booting up in 10 seconds. It's now 15 seconds minimum.
     
  25. BENJMNS macrumors 6502

    BENJMNS

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #25
    again, what gives?
     

Share This Page