Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Krafty

macrumors 601
Original poster
Dec 31, 2007
La La Land
Alright, the one thing I've been looking at was a MacBook Pro. The few reasons we're a better GFX chip, bigger screen, and possibly more RAM. I do GFX design & photography work, but I like doing them large scale, so the pet peeve I picked up over my 3.5 year old MacBook was the small screen. I've updated the RAM to 2GB & I'm on my 3rd hard drive (60 -> 120 -> 250GB).

So lets make a disclaimer first: No, I am not spoiled. I hate asking my parents for things, but I think kind of person who rarely does. And when I do, yeah, its kinda expensive. But my few expenses I've all had from over 2 years, or I sold my old stuff to help pay (or paid full for). If you want me to run the list just so you'll answer then so be it. I'm a college student earning decent grades, so I don't think I'm leeching while giving absolutely nothing in return.

So, all the judgmental insults gone? YAY! Okay. So, the deal was I was going to sell my MacBook for around $700 (with the upgraded HD & RAM in it obviously). Its a 2.0GHz CD. It's still alive, however, hiccups now and then. Me and this thing have been through hell, but it manages to get the job done, but i found myself using the schools massive tank steroid-injected (over-exaggration) Mac Pros. Now, I understand that I could just get an adapter and possibly just use my Mac and mirror the screen...
BUT!, Theres a big "but" in this somewhere...

254548509_e5276b00b1.jpg

^THERE IT IS!

I figured, with a new computer, I could get an updated hardware along with the bigger screen.

So, 15" MBP, base $1,700. My dad has educational discount but I dont know how much that is. Bollocks to that I thought:

So, $700 from me, would mean my parents would still have to shell out more than $500 each. (yes, I talked to my mom at least about it)