750 GIG HD really only 700 GIG???

Discussion in 'iMac' started by smoking monkey, May 15, 2008.

  1. smoking monkey macrumors 65816

    smoking monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #1
    having just set up my new beast I noticed that my HD was already down to about 680 gig. I found it odd that the pre installed software would amount to 70gig or so but assumed that imovie and idvd had so pretty big and thorough tute videos that I could easily delete.

    I ordered the 750gig HD on a 3.06 machine and expected it to be a little smaller than 750...

    BUT!!!

    here is the system profiler readout for my HD...

    Hitachi HDS721075KLA360:

    Capacity: 698.64 GB
    Model: Hitachi HDS721075KLA360
    Revision: GK0KA9CA
    Serial Number: GTA204P8GKYV4F
    Native Command Queuing: Yes
    Queue Depth: 32
    Removable Media: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk0
    Mac OS 9 Drivers: No
    Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
    S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified
    Volumes:
    Macintosh HD:
    Capacity: 698.32 GB
    Available: 669.1 GB
    Writable: Yes
    File System: Journaled HFS+
    BSD Name: disk0s2
    Mount Point: /


    What the buggers is going on here?

    Has apple stuffed up and put the wrong HD in my pute? I reckon so and if so then I got me some compensation coming...

    ANYBODY with the same BTO 750GIG HD machine out there? can you do a check for me?

    I will call apple in the morning as well.
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Welcome to MR

    Nothing is wrong - see this Guide

    Guides : Hardware : Hard Drive Size Discrepancy

    In general you want to do a Search on the forum before posting a new thread, or check the Guides tab at the top of the window, as many frequently-asked questions are answered there.
     
  3. Mr Maui macrumors 65816

    Mr Maui

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    #3
    Sounds about right. I just ordered a 250 GB and placed it into my Powerbook G4 and it's formatted capacity was 232GB. About the same percentage as your 750 GB and my old 100 GB that i rep[laced had only 93 GB formatted.
     
  4. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #4
    Such is Hard Drives.

    Too bad the size is not as advertised. For example, if advertised as a 500GB HD, that is the capacity you see because it is actually a 560GB HD. Until then I guess we are stuck with the way it is.
     
  5. smoking monkey thread starter macrumors 65816

    smoking monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #5
    In general I agree. but seeing as this is a new release model I was after somebody with the exact some config. I do know that you get less than what is stated as I wrote in my opening post, but never expected it to be 51 gig smaller!
     
  6. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    699 * 1.073 = 750
     
  7. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #7
    Oi, tha's confusing.

    The OP's hard drive has 750,000,000,000 bytes of storage on it

    The problem comes because there are 2 different methods of calculating what a GB is. In metric or decimal, a GB is 1000 x 1000 x 1000 Bytes -- the factor is x1000 just like kilometer is 1000 metres.

    But in binary, a GB is 1024 x 1024 x 1024 Bytes. Because 1000 is not an 'even' multiple of 2, 1024 was chosen as the binary "Gigabyte" (or Gibibyte) because it is close to 1000 -- but it is off by about 7%

    When people advertise and sell hard drives, they use metric - 750 GB

    When the computer counts it up, it uses binary, so it reports approximately 7% less GB for the same number of bytes, or around 700 GB

    The size is as advertised -- Either way, the 750 GB hard drive still has 750,000,000,000 Bytes of storage and is reported by the computer as 700 (binary) GB. It's just a difference in nomenclature.


    Analogy: It's like saying my gas tank is advertised at 30 US gallons and I can only put in 24.9 Imperial gallons so the tank must be 5 gal smaller, and I feel ripped off.
     
  8. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #8
    Your HDD is the exact size it should be.
     
  9. smoking monkey thread starter macrumors 65816

    smoking monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #9
    Damn, and there I was all excited I could squeeze a freebie out of apple!

    there goes my chance of getting a free ipod!

    Sorry to have wasted youse all time here...
     
  10. DarkHeraldMage macrumors 6502a

    DarkHeraldMage

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #10
    I still get sad when connecting new drives, even with knowing this info. When I plugged in my first 1 TB drive only to see it show as 932 GB I almost cried. Lost over 75 GB? *whimper* I still remember the first time this happened to me over 5 years ago and how mad I was that my HD wasn't reading the right size. Those were the days...
     
  11. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #11
    OMG not another one of these threads......:rolleyes:

    please remember to search
     
  12. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #12
    The discrepancy gets higher when drive storage increases.
     
  13. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #13
    No, I completely understand the reason why things are as they are.

    However, it would be nice to format a xGB hard drive and have xGB of storage showing. That's all I was saying.

    Maybe just sell them using the binary figures. That would simplify things a bit. Of course from a manufacturers perspective, the larger they can show storage capacity the better for them so I doubt they will ever change.

    I must admit, that when I purchase a 500GB HD, I want to see the formatted size as 500GB and not 460 something. Feels like I was ripped off even though I know better. ;)
     
  14. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #14
    It's not the manufacturer's fault. They're selling you (in a 1TB drive) 1000000000000 bytes - that is 1TB.

    There aren't two ways of calculating a gigabyte, giga is one thousand million of something, no more, no less. For some odd reason they thought that naming something that wasn't quite a kilobyte a "kilobyte" would be fine but they're not adhering to the SI definition. Either the computer needs to start showing a gigabyte as 1 billion bytes in which case the drive's advertised capacity will reflect the computer-recorded capacity or the computer needs to start reporting capacity in GiB or TiB or MiB - the proper binary prefixes for capacity.

    For too long the computer has flied in the face of SI standard naming conventions and it's time we stood up! Fight! Win! AAaaarrgghhh!
     
  15. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #15
    You are starting to see where I am coming from.

    And as HD capacities get larger, this difference is becoming more pronounced.

    Just imagine the days when it is not GBs that are missing but TBs! :D
     
  16. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #16
    But nothing is missing - the computer is lying to you! Lying!
     
  17. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #17
    OP- By the way I should point out that this is not Apples fault, it happens on all computers not just macs :D
     
  18. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #18
    Dang things, never trusted them! :D

    Although, since I am still using them after over 30 years, I must be a slow learner! :eek:
     

Share This Page