750Gb AppleTV

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by markfc, Feb 15, 2008.

  1. markfc macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
    #1
    Has anyone used an external drive to try and upgrade the AppleTV with a 3.5" Drive? I don't mean using the USB port.

    I'm thinking of buying a 2.5" ide to 3.5" adapter lead then buying one of these ;

    [​IMG]

    Obvisouly it will involve a lot of butchery but any cables coming out the back of the AppleTV won't be seen.

    Reckon it will work? I might give it a got just using a normal 500gb 3.5" ide drive I have spare.
     
  2. tronic72 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    #2
    Not to be a smart @ss but.....WHY??

    With the new Apple TV take 2, you can only save your photos to the HD. It would take heaps and heaps of rentals to fill 160 GB

    Correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  3. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #3
    You can still sync all your movies, tv shows, music and such off your iTunes onto AppleTV with Take2.
     
  4. markfc thread starter macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
    #4
    What? Why don't you stop being an @ss.

    I want all my media on there that's why.
     
  5. pilotError macrumors 68020

    pilotError

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island
    #5
    Check the awkward TV and other ATV hack sites. I have seen someone run the cable out the back and it was fine, but I also think they hacked it as well. Shouldn't make any difference though.

    It might run a lot cooler without that hard drive in it.
     
  6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    both theoretically and practically i dont see why it wouldnt work.. if its connected via direct cable it should easily read it and work.... should work as if its still inbuilt..
     
  7. markfc thread starter macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
  8. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #8
    Yes, it's been discussed before. The unanswered question has been where do you find the adapter? I've checked my catalogs and cannot locate one. If you can find one, it may even be possible to strap two drives (master/slave) and use OSX's RAID facilities to initialize them as a single volume (e.g., 1.5 TB ATV).

    Let us know how your experiment goes.
     
  9. johnguynn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #9
    Just as an FYI, I have one of those drives and it's so loud that I had to turn off Time Machine because the fan noise was keeping me up at night (it's in my bedroom.) Now I just use Backup and only turn the drive on when I need to use it.
     
  10. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Sounds like a pretty sweet idea to me - I'd be interested to hear if it works :)
     

Share This Page