750gb HD or 128gb SD?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by gaiao, Jul 18, 2012.

1. gaiao, Jul 18, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2012

gaiao macrumors newbie

Hi guys. I'm going to the USA next month and I'm planning on buying a
    Macbook pro 13' 2012 - 8gb
    750gb HD
    It will be my first apple product ever :D

Now here is the question:

Is it worth to change the 750gb HD for a 128gb SSD? I've never used an SSD before so I don't know if the gain in performance is as high as everybody say.

It's always good to have more space, but I'm willing to sacrifice it for a good gain in performance, since most of my files are movies and tv shows, which I don't need to carry with me everywhere.

Thanks in advance.

2. RedCroissant Suspended

I've seen some excellent increase in speeds with a SSD but I would just feel limited by the lack of space. However, if you won't be using your computer to store large amounts of files or even large files and relying on iCloud, then it might not even affect you.

I would still go with the regular HDD because even thought the SSD is faster at startup and quicker at accessing and opening applications, but that gain is negligible in my opinion because I don't mind waiting an extra second or so.

And if you do decide to go with the HDD drive now, you can always instal a SSD in the future and most likely it will be cheaper than the upgrade is now.

3. gaiao thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the quick answer. If I decided to install a SSD later, will it void the warranty?

4. bit50man macrumors newbie

750gb HD or 128gb SD?

I just took out a 750gb drive out of my MBP and replaced it with an OCZ 240gb drive.

The performance improvement is amazing. Photoshop was one of the apps which too ages to load, it now loads up really fast.

I would be tempted to get the 750gb drive and replace it later. SSD drives are coming down in price and you can put the replaced drive into an external caddy and use for storage.