8.3 kills iFunBox and iTools

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by AlomWare-com, Apr 11, 2015.

  1. AlomWare-com macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    #1
    Something to be aware of... if you upgrade to 8.3 then you won't be able to use iFunBox or iTools to access your device anymore. Stick with 8.2 if that's important to you.
     
  2. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #2
    No issue here. I've been using iOS 8.3 since PB1 was released and now using the Final version of it, and iFunBox, iMazing and iBackUpBot all work without a hiccup.
     
  3. AlomWare-com thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    #3
    What? Even the devs of iFunBox say it doesn't work with iOS 8.3 and that they're working on a fix. Have you tried to copy files to/from your device with it, or just connected it? It'll still connect, but file transfers don't work.

    From https://www.facebook.com/ifunbox.dev on April 10:

    "iOS 8.3 ruined our freedom of controlling data in our installed Apps and Games. Apple blocked access of the entire sandbox directory of every installed App since iOS 8.3. Previously only writing is block in executable directory. Now we totally lost the control of Apps on our own devices. We are investigating the situation."

    Also:

    http://apple.stackexchange.com/ques...owse-app-documents-after-upgrading-to-ios-8-3
    http://discchord.com/blog/2015/4/10/ios-83-warning.html
     
  4. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #4
    I deleted files. I did it this afternoon before I backuped my device as I do on a weekly basis. I delete temporary files from some applications so it doesn't add to my backup size.

    I just tried my Girlfriend's phone and it does not work.

    Were you by chance on the Public Beta? She wasn't and went from 8.2 -> 8.3. I went through 8.2 -> 8.3 PB1 -> PB2 -> Final. Maybe that changed something..
     
  5. AlomWare-com, Apr 11, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2015

    AlomWare-com thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    #5
    And you deleted them with iFunBox (or similar tool) with iOS 8.3 installed? :eek:

    No, I was never using public betas. I've passed your info to iFunBox's Facebook page to see what they have to say. Your info may help them with a fix! :)
     
  6. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #6
    Yep. Did it about 6 hours ago.

    Like I said, my phone works and my GF doesn't. Beta might have caused the discrepancy.
     
  7. Simplicated macrumors 65816

    Simplicated

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
    #7
    I haven't been able to do that since I installed 8.3 final on my iOS devices. That sucks, because I was trying to manually restore data to my iPad. God dammit Apple, stop taking away our freedom...
     
  8. NY Guitarist macrumors 65816

    NY Guitarist

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
  9. hunt2013 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    #9
    Strange. None of my devices have been able to do this before 8.3 beta 2.
     
  10. AlomWare-com thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    #10
    You think I'm posting lies? :p
     
  11. mrex, Apr 12, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2015

    mrex macrumors 68020

    mrex

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Location:
    europe
    #11
    8.3 kills iFunBox and iTools

    :-s thanks alot apple. now i cannot backup some files anymore... who ever made this decision, please go and kill yourself... (just tried iBrowse from my laptop)
     
  12. RebornProphet Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    #12
    Yup, no more backing up my game saves with iExplorer for titles that don't utilise iCloud saving. Bollocks.
     
  13. kupkakez macrumors 68000

    kupkakez

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #13
    I really wish I would have found this before I updated my iPad and iPhone x_x

    I use ifunbox to manage two different Kim kardashian Hollywood games (I know I know dumb game but so addicting) and now I can't get the other one back without ifunbox. At least it's saved on my desktop. Hopefully this will be fixed!!
     
  14. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #14
    I've seen this happen with PhoneView and DiskAid/iMazing, and Calibre. They've probably just made further changes to how USB connections work. Most of the hacking that can be done on iOS needs to be done via being plugged in, so they're constantly making changes to patch things up. They wouldn't be totally patching it though, there's lots of sync software out there.

    iMazing isn't working at the moment too BTW. But I know it'll be updated within the week.
     
  15. iOSUser7 macrumors 6502a

    iOSUser7

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    #15
    You guys can still downgrade to 8.2 before they close the window.
     
  16. Scubadiver macrumors member

    Scubadiver

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Cutler Bay, Florida
    #16
    Working for me - except for Apps

    FWIW, I'm on 8.3 (was on the public beta), and most of iFunBox is working for me.

    I can see the filesystem, the pictures (was able to delete one), etc.

    But anything having to do with Apps, does not work.
     
  17. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #17
    All apps and games use iCloud saving. That's done from Apple's API end.

    You might be thinking of iCloud syncing, which uses an additional pool of iCloud storage, to sync across devices.
     
  18. gumbyjunior1 macrumors regular

    gumbyjunior1

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Location:
    'Merica
    #18
    All the more reason I am glad I am still on 7.1.2
    I am sure that those two apps will get updated fairly quick.
     
  19. RebornProphet Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    #20
    No, all games do not use iCloud saving. :rolleyes:

    It has to be added by the developers. For example, I need to play through the first three episodes of Game of Thrones by Telltale again because there is no iCloud saving and I had to restore to 8.3 when the public build came out as I was in the betas.

    Telltale themselves have answered this request by users on their own forums as saying this is a feature they may add in an update. Game of Thrones saves game progress to the device only, as do a great many other titles.
     
  20. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #21
    Correct. Developers need to store the specific files in a specific container that is backed up to iCloud. Otherwise, Apple would be backing up the cache and other temporarily files that are not needed.
     
  21. mrex macrumors 68020

    mrex

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Location:
    europe
    #22
    not all use the icloud backup and in my case i could only restore data if the app crashes and looses data by restoring the whole device with itunes backup.. also if i change my device i need now to share those files in the same way by restoring from itunes...
     
  22. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #23
    8.3 kills iFunBox and iTools


    You just describes how iCloud Backup works. Its full device only.
     
  23. X5-599 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #24
    It wouldn't be all that bad if Apple allowed to only include data of specific apps when doing a backup. I mean a backup just for data. Nothing OS related. Like others said it would be really convinient for games that don't save to icloud.

    For example I've had a million apps on my iPad. But I really only need savegames etc from like 5 of them. If I get a new device and I want those savegames back, all I can do is a full backup. That, considering the time I've been using my iPad, may very well introduce/carry over problems to the new iPad...

    I think it is quite reasonable to want a clean install (OS) and just resore data from specific apps.
     
  24. mrex macrumors 68020

    mrex

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Location:
    europe
    #25
    in this case, only full itunes backup works. and i rarely do full app backups with itunes. now i need to do that until someone figures how to access appdata again...
     

Share This Page