8-Core Mac Photos - Finally got around to it

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Crawn2003, Jul 23, 2007.

  1. Crawn2003 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, California
    #1
    Here's the photos I said I'd post.

    30" and 23" Cinema Displays
    [​IMG]

    Inside of the Case
    [​IMG]

    Memory Riser Cards w/ 9GB FB-DIMMs
    [​IMG]

    Fractals Running w/ Activity Monitor showing all cores @ 100%
    [​IMG]

    Fractals Results - 83842 megaflops in 8.2 Seconds (compared to a dual 2.5 G5 - 16458 megaflops in 12.4 seconds)
    [​IMG]

    Desktop w/ About this Mac
    [​IMG]

    Mac Pro running Increase for Folding@Home (running 2 SMP units, 1 per physical processor)
    [​IMG]

    Up close about this Mac
    [​IMG]

    ~Crawn
     
  2. flappo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    in the cubicles
    #2
    lovely setup and WOW , the 30 inch looks gigantic

    classy glass desktop too

    that things gonna roar when leopard is released into the wild
     
  3. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    Nice pictures and nice setup. That 30" really overshadows the 23".
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    OH YOUR GOD!!!!!

    mate that thing is Amazing!!!!! omg if i had that money.....

    that is clearly the best machine in the world. i am really quite speechless!! i hope your in love with it as much as i am... that is raw power for you right there..
    if its fast on tiger, leopard will cream it up.. zomg!!!

    wats ur gpu btw??
     
  5. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #5
    why do you have that much dough and I don't... :(

    that is the set-up to end all set-ups. You'll be happy with that for several decades to come.
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    Very nice setup, pictures are a little huge though, perhaps use [​IMG]
     
  7. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
  8. newton213 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    #8
    It's got the ATI Radeon 1900 in it, can tell by the white fan shroud.
     
  9. AdeFowler macrumors 68020

    AdeFowler

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #9
    Nice set-up. I'm guessing you upgraded from a dual 2.5 G5... how does it compare when performing everyday tasks?
     
  10. techlover828 macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #10
    I wish I had of money, that thing is a beast! What do you do with it?
     
  11. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    shows it off to us poor people!! thats what he does ;)

    i wish i had moneyies like thats :(
     
  12. Yankees 4 Life macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    College Station, Tx
    #12
    people like this make me want to splurge my money like mad crazy... i wish i was much older and had money, not a poor college student with a macbook and an iphone... :(
     
  13. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
  14. MacTO macrumors member

    MacTO

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    #14
    Wow, looks great!

    I have 2 23" ACDs and still think they're big... What you've got there is humongous! Have fun!
     
  15. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #15
    That is a SWEET setup.

    What are you going to use the Mac Pro for? Just curious...
     
  16. NickD macrumors 6502a

    NickD

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
  17. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #17
    Sweet! I have the same setup (Octocore & 9GB RAM), except no ACD 30" which I was going to get, but it's mucho expensive for now so I opted for 2x 20" Wide Samsungs, which are still pretty good, but obviously not as good as a single 30" ACD.

    Congrats! This thing is a monster.
     
  18. Dustman macrumors 65816

    Dustman

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    #18
    Awesome! and if you get cold, all you have to do is turn on your computer and WHAM! instant heat!
     
  19. ob81 macrumors 65816

    ob81

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #19
    Damn man, the 30" dwarfs the 23". Choices, choices. :)
     
  20. Og Oggilby macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Location:
    Boston Area
    #20
    Congrats Crawn! I have the same setup as you and SDAVE (2x Quad 3.0 with 9gb) but went with a NEC 2690WUXi (25.5" LCD). I'm sure you will have a lot of fun with your setup :)
     
  21. fuzzynavo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    CA
    #21
    gotta echo all the "WOW's" and the *drools* of previous posts. awesome setup! i also really am curious as to what you use all that power for! i have access to a 2.66 quad core mac pro here in lab and it already is MIGHTY powerful. it can churn through simulations over night that my 2.2 SR MBP would take almost 24 hours to do. i just wish i can convince the boss to invest in one of these babies. :eek:
     
  22. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #22
    or 3 :):) imagine that!!!! 3 octo cores just chilling together churning through some stuff.........:eek:
     
  23. eldino macrumors member

    eldino

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Italy
    #23
    This kind of threads make me wet more than a hottie.
    The 30' screen and the Mac Pro are my wet dreams. iWet.
     
  24. Cfour macrumors member

    Cfour

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #24
    That is the best set up I've seen so far
    Man if only I had the money ...
    Enjoy it :)

    Cfour
     

Share This Page