8 Core - Too much for Heavy hi-res Graphics, light audio video?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Sean Dempsey, Jul 2, 2010.

1. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

Sean Dempsey

Is the 8 core overkill for heavy hi-res graphic design, but low use audio and video editing?

I have no experience with the current Mac Pro's. I have a 1,1 original, but I understand that the Nehalem processor is far superior to the Woodcrest from the original.

Question is, with 3300 as the base of an 8 core, does a 2d designer really need that extra processor?

2. Roman23 macrumors 6502

First tell me,

EXACTLY what you use your machine for then I can advise.. Personally, if you are doing heavy rendering and audio recording, then any 8-core would be a nice choice.. stay away from the 2.26 - they are so slow and most 2008 8-core machines can wipe the floor with it.. HOWEVER, the 8-core 2.66 or 2.93 is a worthy one to look at, however HOW MUCH DO YOU PLAN ON SPENDING?

3. Sean Dempsey thread starter macrumors 68000

Sean Dempsey

Well, I thought "hi res graphic desigh, and light audio video use" was fairly clear, but I'll try to elaborate more.

Hi res print design using Photoshop, Illustrator, Indesign, large format PDF files and large format printing. Will be making hi-res materials from hi-res phtotography, and often be doing large multi-page documents as well.

Audio and video editing will be occasional and not very heavy use, but still will need to be done every now and then.

4. Vylen macrumors 65816

You might have better luck looking on Adobe-related forums regarding this.

They have supposedly increased multicore support since CS4, but just how "increased" is it - I got no idea.

You can of course check the stickied "Real world" photoshop benchmark test thread. But, that's just Photoshop. Don't know about benchmarks regarding Illustrator and InDesign and I can't really imagine them requiring a lot of cores to do what they do.