8 gb of ram with MacBookPro3,1

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jayh, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. jayh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #1
    After some reading I decided to see if I could upgrade my macbook pro to 8gb of ram. I purchased an upgrade from Newegg and they supplied G-Skill F2-5300CL5D-8GBSQ DDRII4GB PC2-5300 Dimms(pair of 4gbs). After one false start where I didn't have the dimm properly seated (no boot, 3 flashes on the front light) I got it to recognise the memory in the system profile.

    With the 8gb in it was running poorly, most of the apps hung coming up. I rebooted the system, being forced to hold the on/off switch since it was hung during shutdown. After it came back up it ran better but a windows 7 64 bit vm on vmware fusion 3.02 was practically useless. The vm had run fine when the system only had 4gb of ram. I eventually yanked the 8 gb and put the 4gb back in. I'm debating returning the 8gb, though I'll probably see how it works with 6gb.

    So couple questions..... First, here's the specs on my macbook pro.

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro3,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 4 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Bus Speed: 800 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MBP31.0070.B07
    SMC Version (system): 1.18f5
    Serial Number (system): W87450SHX94
    Hardware UUID: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-001B63B273C6
    Sudden Motion Sensor:
    State: Enabled


    Questions
    1) Can this model actually run 8gb. It recognised the ram but performed really badly.
    2) If I do up the ram to 6gb how will not working in Dual Channel mode inconvenience me running multiple vm's, occasionally propellerhead reason or ableton live?
    3) Can this config run Snow Leopard in 64 bit mode?

    Thanks for any input.

    Jay
     
  2. m85476585 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #3
    The thread linked to above will answer everything. Don't worry about dual-channel--just about all chipsets these days do asymmetric dual channel, which gives you 99% of the benefit of dual channel with unmatched modules.
     
  3. jayh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #4
    Ayup, worked great.... now about that 64 bit.

    I've got my 2.4 ghz macbook pro running with 6 gb and it isn't displaying any of the issues it had trying to run with 8gb. I now have a 4mb G-Skill dimm in the lower memory slot and a 2 gig Crucial dimm in the upper. It's chugging along nicely. Thanks much for the input.
    Looking through google it looks like the macbookpro3,1 isn't going to run 64 bit snow leopard , no matter how long I hold the 6 4 during reboot. Is this correct? I'm not gonna bother mucking with the nvram or the config files until I've got a definitive answer.

    Thanks again,
    Jay
     
  4. gwsat macrumors 68000

    gwsat

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #5
    I recently upgraded my MBP3,1, 2.4 Ghz from 2 gig to 6 gig of RAM. I bought a 4 gig and a 2 gig module from OWC but didn't consider even trying 8 gig. OWC listed my model as one that may suffer undesirable sude effects when 8 gig is used. With 6 gig I am able to run VMware Fusion 3.02 and Windows 7 in Unity mode. For the first time in the 2 years I have been running Fusion, it has been absolutely stable and is exponentially more useful to me than it was when I had to run it with only 2 gig of RAM. For obvious reasons, I didn't even consider trying Unity with only 2 gig of RAM.
     
  5. darrellishere macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #6
    Thanks for that! I just ordered a 4gb module base on your excellent experiences! Cheers Mate :) (No more page outs, Hopefully!)
     
  6. gwsat macrumors 68000

    gwsat

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #7
    darrellishire -- If upgrading your MBP's RAM does as much for you as it has done for me, prepare to be deliriously happy.:) The 6 gig of RAM I bought from OWC was the best $189 I have ever spent on hardware.
     

Share This Page