8 GB vs 16 GB of ram [for Battlefield 1 on PC]

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by max2, Nov 4, 2016.

  1. max2 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    #1
    I am trying to decide if it is worth upgrading from 8 GB of ram to 16 GB of ram ? It will be older DDR3 ram and on a PC.

    My problem is in one way I want to because it is so cheap but another way I don't because I plan on upgrading my whole PC within 6 months.

    This will be for Battlefield 1. Does anyone know if you saw a difference going from 2 sticks of 4 GB to 2 more sticks of 4 GB to a total of 16 GB in Battlefield 1? If you don't know its ok. I just heard people say there minimum fps increased going from 8 to 16 GB.
     
  2. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    One of the best things you can do is monitor your current RAM useage.

    I run 16gb in most of my main systems, but honestly I'd be fine with 8. The only thing it really saves me is a small amount of paging out. An SSD can compensate for that somewhat also, as paging in and out is faster vs. a platter drive.

    For the time being, I think most everyone will see a difference between 4gb and 8gb, but fewer will see a difference between 8 and 16.
     
  3. garnerx macrumors 6502

    garnerx

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    #3
    Don't know how accurate these stats are, but as a general guide I just got these from MSI Afterburner while running Battlefield 1 multiplayer.

    Resolution 3325x2078 (I think this is 3x DSR supersampling in the Nvidia control panel)
    Video settings are all on Ultra, I have 16 GB of (older DDR3) RAM in this computer

    RAM usage peaked at 9 GB
    VRAM usage peaked at 4.8 GB
    Max GPU usage was 99%
    Max CPU usage was 100% across all cores, which I've never seen in any other game, temps reached 80 C (this is an Ivy Bridge i7 at 4.4 GHz)
    Framerate hovered around 90 fps

    I don't think you need loads of RAM for this game but it really does tax the CPU. I read somewhere that i5 systems can have trouble with it on the highest settings as it benefits a lot from hyperthreading.

    So there you go. If your GPU is strong enough then your CPU will probably bottleneck you before the RAM does.
     
  4. Zenithal macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #4
    16 GB. DDR3 is still fairly cheap now. I'd take advantage of it.
     
  5. max2 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015

Share This Page