8 GBs of RAM?!?!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TSE, Dec 9, 2007.

  1. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #1
    I heard somewhere that the new MacBooks and MacBook Pros can hold up to 8 GBs of RAM, and the motherboard is made for it also. I was told this is possible, once the 4 GB Laptop modules come out. Is this true? I was going to get 4 GBs of RAM for my MacBook but might just wait a while because 8 GBs sounds *bleep*ing amazing! :D
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  3. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #3
    No the motherboard only supports 4gb Not to many people need 8 now anyways unless your running 64-bit applications it's worthless.
     
  4. techlover828 macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
  5. 119576 Guest

    119576

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #6
    You're pretty wrong, too.
     
  6. techlover828 macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #7
    I've heard in many threads that you can.
     
  7. Cybergypsy macrumors 68040

    Cybergypsy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Central Florida!
  8. 119576 Guest

    119576

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #9
    Not on an apple laptop.
     
  9. MacinDoc macrumors 68020

    MacinDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #10
    From what I've read, the SR mobile chipset can only support up to 4GB. Maybe some people are thinking about the desktop chipset when they say 8GB.
     
  10. techlover828 macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #11
    check out this thread.


    edit:

    oh, ya, and if you still don't believe me here's another thread and a PDF that says that SR can support 8GB

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=334137
     

    Attached Files:

  11. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #12
    He is correct there jut are no 4GB sticks available for a reasonable price right now. Apple is just doing the same thing they have done before and only telling how much is possible with currently avilable RAM and not updating it once the larger capacities are available.
     
  12. techlover828 macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #13
    thank you, finally someone who isn't a know it all
     

Share This Page