8 Gig enough for iMac 27 i7 f/PS/Aperture?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Noctilux.95, Aug 15, 2010.

  1. Noctilux.95 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    LA
    #1
    I'm a working photographer and work primarily with Photoshop CS4 (soon C5) and Aperture 3.
    I just purchased an iMac 27" with the i7 processor to go with my Mac Pro 2.66.

    My questions being is 8 gig of memory enough to work with files from Canon 5D MK II RAW files working in Aperture and CS5?

    Thanks!
     
  2. MaxBeagleton macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #2
    too much?

    Working with stills, I should think that will be fine. Befor I got my i7 iMac, I developed my 7D raw images in LightRoom on a 4GB, 2009 MBP without breaking a sweat.

    But can you ever have too much memory? I doubt it. Hopefully you have configured your iMac with 2x4GB so you can efficiently upgrade if you want more.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    Yes, 8GB should be sufficient. You can keep your eye on Activity Monitor and see the amount of page outs. Page out means that you don't have enough free RAM and the data has to be written into HD instead (causes slowdown)
     
  4. lexvo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    I have a 2009 27" i5 with 8Gb RAM. Working in Lightroom 3 and PS with 5D mark II RAW files, I never notice a shortage of memory. I think you will be fine.
     
  5. Noctilux.95 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    LA
    #5
    Thanks for everyones input. I ordered 2x 2-gig sims from Crucial an hour ago.
     

Share This Page