8 or 16 GB Macbook Pro 2016

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by snakes-, Oct 28, 2016.

1. snakes- macrumors regular

I dont know if i buy tomorrow the 8GB Macbook pro with 256ssd

or wait and configure a better wit 16 GB ram and maybe 512 ssd?

cant decide me.

I use one external full hd display and stream from time to time to a third display over apple tv/airplay at the same time.

Full HD Movies and short 4k with Final Cut and surfing are my activities.

i like silence machines, i think the lower cpu is more silence than the i7 ?

i need advice.....

2. vlinkz macrumors regular

Do you plan to use this laptop for more than a year?

If so get the 16GB.

3. DesmoPilot macrumors 65816

More RAM is always better. Storage is dependant on your needs.

4. snakes- thread starter macrumors regular

yea more than a year, with my air i use some external hard drive...

5. vlinkz macrumors regular

I've been using 8GB for about 4 years now. I wouldn't buy anything lower than 16GB for a brand new laptop.

6. snakes- thread starter macrumors regular

ok, but dont know is it worth the new Macbook pro and how much it will be faster than my air ^^
    but my mac are 10 hours a day on, so i think more speed would be good :) ?

7. vlinkz macrumors regular

It's very expensive, if that's what you're asking. Totally up to you if you think the enormous cost is worth it.

8. snakes- thread starter macrumors regular

The 13 inch non touchbar model would be ok from price, but with 16gb and 512 gb ssd its a hard price.....

9. Nate., Oct 28, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2016

Nate. macrumors regular

Nate.

Sheesh.. alright I wouldn't go by this advice at all..

If you're doing extensive editing, gaming (for whatever reason), plan on having massive amounts of demanding programs open (ex: Final Cut, Chrome, Lightroom, Music/Video Streaming) at the same time - get 16gb.

Anything less, 8 is fine, you probably won't even use half of that.