8 Track to Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ukuleleman, Sep 7, 2011.

  1. ukuleleman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I tried this in 'Digital Audio' but got no replies, I'm hoping one of the Mac Pro owners can help me.

    I have loads of stuff on my Fostex VF08 which may be old hat now, but still gives excellent quality digital recording, even older hat is the SCSI card model 8340 which I fitted as an extra but never used as I was recording to tape.

    My problem is that I have to get my stuff, mostly 4 part vocals onto the Mac Pro.

    I think I read that its possible to get a SCSI to firewire connection, I would appreciate any comments or advice

    Thanks in advance

    Ukuleleman
     
  2. ekwipt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #2
    I quickly read up on the Fostex VF08 and it looks like it has Spdif input and output, you should be able to go from the output f the foster to the optical in of the MacPro. All you need is some recording software
     
  3. Neodym macrumors 65816

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #3
    What Google told me...

    1. According to this document you can burn CD's or CD-RW's for music export using an external SCSI-CD-Burner and (at least) Firmware V2.0. Alternatively you can use ZIP drives or DVD-Ram. Any of these options should be available for little money from eBay.

    2. According to this document the VF08 has S/PDIF I/O - albeit electrical, whereas the MacPro has optical, so you'd need to use an adapter as described in this thread.

    3. You could try to figure out whether the SCSI card you have in the Fostex supports networking over SCSI and get an old computer with SCSI, though the hassle to set it up is probably higher than going with option #1 or #2.
     
  4. ukuleleman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #4
    Thanks ekwipt

    I appreciate you help mate, thanks a lot, just getting my head round 'Spdif' Iv'e used the output before, recording to my Windows Computer, it's the terminology that throws me, I've always just referred to it as 'Sound out' and have loads of cables that fit it but I have my doubts that it will work if connected to an optical in. thanks for your input.

    Regards.

    Roy
     
  5. ukuleleman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #5
    Too many dead ends

    Thanks for this, I've tried everywhere for a S/DIF TO Optical, there's loads of stuff on the net about them, but when you track it down they are all dead ends, out of stock or 'end of life'! whatever that may mean, 'End of line' I understand, 'End of life' seems even more final.
    I'll get there (I hope) but it's not helped by the fact that it seems impossible to get any input from Fostex themselves, just asking for help is a nightmare.
    I do appreciate your time in replying, thanks a lot.
    Roy
     
  6. ukuleleman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #7

Share This Page