800 by 480 resolution screen- possibility for new iphone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iansilv, Feb 10, 2008.

1. iansilv macrumors 6502a

i just read about this new xperia phone by sony that has a higher resolution screen than the iphone- 800 by 480 instead of 480 by 320. So I want thinking- what are the chances that the new 3g iphone- if it is released by the holidays might have a higher resolution screen? The current iphone screen is great- in fact, it's awesome. but with the resolution independence of the mac based OS, it would look even better if it was a higher resolution display. any thoughts?

2. kdarling macrumors demi-god

kdarling

I think that by the beginning of 2009, VGA or greater smartphones will be the rage.

By late 2009, they will also be expected to have a digital TV receiver. (No need to clog up the internet and carriers.)

I foresee interesting times.

3. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

I'm no expert, but wouldn't it be 720x480? That's what standard widescreen DVDs are and it's technically 480p. I would really like that so iTunes can start selling true dvd-quality videos instead of lesser stuff. I'd be ripping all my stuff in 720x480 if my iPod could play it.

4. anthonymoody macrumors 68020

Two problems with your 720 x 480 suggestion:

1) the existing iphone is not a 16:9 AR screen/resolution, so there's not particular reason to think future ones would be

2) no one is now, nor is likely to, manufacture on in the 3.5" form factor

To the OP - when I saw the xperia today (WM - YUCK) i had the exact same thought about the v2 iphone - 3G, 32GB and 800 x 480 screen :)

TM

5. joekun macrumors regular