800mHz Ram with Leopard?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Brendon Bauer, Sep 20, 2007.

  1. Brendon Bauer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Good 'ol USofA
    #1
    I was just curious... I have 2x1GB sticks of ram that came from Apple with my SR Macbook Pro. They are both 667mHz obviously. My computer has a bus speed of 800mHz, but the operating system limits the ram to 667 right? Does that mean when I upgrade to Leopard that I can use 800mHz ram at full speed? If so, I'd love to start working on getting 2x2GB 800mHz chips so when Leopard rolls along I'll be able to use it. I don't really know that much about RAM, so I'm not sure what exactly limits it. I tried a search, but couldn't find exactly what I was looking for. If this is true, could someone let me know what kind of RAM I should look for? I'd love 2x2GB of 800mHz so I can max out my computer.

    Sorry if this sounds like rambling :).
    Brendon
     
  2. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I'm not sure it will be worth the outlay. If you can find 800Mhz RAM, it will still be very expensive. Let the prices freefall a bit. You aren't going to get a lot of bang for the money you put in right now, but if it gets cheaper, even a little bump is nice.
     
  3. Brendon Bauer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Good 'ol USofA
    #3
    So... it's Tiger that's limiting the RAM? Or what? I'm still not clear on the whole concept. Will my computer never support 800mHz ram, or is it the operating system--so when Leopard comes out my computer will support 800mHz ram.

    Thanks for the tip though. I haven't checked out prices yet as I don't know what I'm looking for heh.
     
  4. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #4
    No, the memory controller in the Crestline chipset limits it to 667mhz ram... read the spec sheets on intel.com.
     
  5. Brendon Bauer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Good 'ol USofA
    #5
    You're talking to someone who doesn't know anything about chipsets, let alone Crestline for that matter :confused:

    Sorry to keep bothering everyone...
     
  6. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #6
    lol its ok.

    Crestline is the chipset in the current model Santa Rosa Macbook Pros. It only supports DDR2 667 ram.

    I'm not sure when 800mhz ram will be supported.. it might be in the SR refresh when Penryn is released early next year, or it might not be until Montevina in Summer 2008.
     
  7. Brendon Bauer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Good 'ol USofA
    #7
    Oooh ok. Thanks for the answer :). Maybe I'll work on getting 4gb of memory sometime in the future then--the 667mhz chips. I guess I don't reeeaally need 800mHz... I'm just power hungry :D.

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page