800Mhz to 2.66Ghz!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by RobotApartment, Apr 26, 2007.

  1. RobotApartment macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    #1
    I just made the jump from my Powerbook G4, which was really a tank for the 5-6 years I beat it to death. I finally made the switch to a mac pro and the jump in speed is amazing

    Has any one else experienced such a jump? It really shows off the power of a workstation like this one.

    I do have some ?'s

    Now I decided to get the Dell 2407WFP and I am planning to hook up my Xbox 360 to this monitor via component cables. All the monitor has (that I can tell) are video inputs.

    How and where do I input the audio for the 360?
    Bear in mind that I didn’t get speakers yet, so if that’s the answer what are a good set of speakers to get to do such a thing (I don’t need anything crazy like surround sound or anything right now I just want the sound for my 360 to come out)

    Thank you all in advance, this forum always seems helpful.
     
  2. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #2
    Its just a monitor. No sound. You will have to break the sound (white and red) component cables away from the video cables and plug them into a separate receiver. You can also get red/white -> line out (headphone/cheap speaker) converters on the cheap, but cheap sound is crap sound ;)

    You might want to hold out a nick and look for the 2407-HC revision of the monitor. Better color, but if you're not an industry professional the difference is marginal.
     
  3. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    I've gone from a single 1.33GHz G4 to a 2.0GHz intel Core Duo and it was a very much appreciated speed boost. I don't think that I could go back down to a 1.33GHz G4 ever again, I just have always had to do things that needed much processing power.

    Yes, you'll need to get some speakers, as the dell monitor does not have any built in to it.
     
  4. dkoralek macrumors 6502

    dkoralek

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #4
    I have my Mac Pro and a 2407 in my office (aka bedroom; i really should have a 2-bedroom place) and got the cheapo sound bar that goes with it for audio from the MP (The sound's good enough for me for compressed audio and the like; if I want high quality, I use the cd player in my rack system (nothing like the 5.1 SACD mix of Dark Side of the Moon :). Separately, I have an HD cable box going to the 2407 with the audio split to a cheap set of stereo speakers. Not enough room for me to go with a better set. It's fine for watching tv. Not great. But one day...

    If only I could figure out how to get video off of the cable box onto the computer. The firewire port is active and I can see the correct box on the MP, but every time I've tried to record the stream, I get a black screen with no audio. blah. If anybody has had any luck with an SA 8300HD, drop me a note.

    cheers.
     
  5. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #5
    Never ever going to be possible. Its not allowed for legal reasons, the port is only there as a "service port"

    Theoretically, an enterprising user would be able to google search out a hack-ish method to circumvent said limitation, but I wouldn't be able to point you in that direction :cool:
     
  6. product26 macrumors 6502a

    product26

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #6
    I experience a similar jump almost daily.

    I have my 1ghz powerbook G4.... and my mac pro.

    I don't really use the powerbook too much... for obvious reasons
     
  7. Erasmus macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #7
    Well, presently my only computer is my 450MHz G4 Cube. I intend to buy a MBP when they are updated, so I will hopefully be jumping from 0.45GHz to dual 2.4GHz... It should feel good.

    I will finally be able to download and play Freespace 2, and will be able to use Matlab and SolidWorks for my Uni Assignments!!!
     
  8. robPOD macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Location:
    NZ
    #8
    I have gone from microsh*ts windows to OSX and the performance jump was huge.:D :D :D :D
     
  9. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #9
    Shh, don't tell anyone the grass really is greener on this side :D
     
  10. iSaint macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #10
    Same here...except that I have to use Win98 on a six year old Gateway at work everyday. I keep the Powerbook on the desk next to it, so I use it when I can.

    Congrats on the new computer!
     
  11. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #11
    I went from a single 1.8Ghz G5 to a Core Duo 1.66Ghz(with 256Mb increase in RAM) and the new speed is great!!


    Really helps for handbraking things!
     
  12. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #12
    i did a similar jump from a 876MHz G4 powerbook to a 2.0GHz iMac G5. night and day. :D
     
  13. Voidness macrumors 6502a

    Voidness

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    Null
    #13
    I made a massive jump back in 1999. I had an Intel 66Mhz 486 processor with 8MB RAM, and got a 500Mhz Pentium 3 with 128MB RAM :D :cool:
     
  14. Grasbak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Is this right? - i dont think component carrys sound that way - the old style 3 phono cables do (yellow/red/white). I think you probably want this - connect the VGA to the monitor and get the 2 audio cables to connect to speakers. I see you dont have speakers - do you have a stereo with auxillary inputs?

    My brother has his set up this way on an acer monitor - looks great!
     
  15. waremaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #15
    hehe I went from a Quicksilver 733 to a Mac Pro 2.66 and oh what a difference. But to be honest I was running a Dell with OSX for a while to help with the painfully slow system I had been dealing with. I have a 24" Gateway monitor it's very similar to the Dell you have (same panel and inputs) I use an SA 8300HD converter box hooked to a component switcher and I have an hacked xbox running xbmc running to the second input of the switchbox and the output of the switchbox goes to the monitors component input. For audio I have a pair of Klipsch Promedia 5.1's and I have the Klipsch DD5.1 decoder. I run the coaxial out of the 8300HD to the component switch which also handles digital audio and the coaxial digital out of the xbox too the second input on the switcher then I take the coaxial out on the switcher and run that to the coaxial input on the Klipsch DD5.1. Then I take the optical out on the Mac Pro and run that to the optical input on the DD5.1 so I get sound from all devices in full 5.1.
     
  16. Lord Nerdos macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    Osaka
    #16
    Powerbook 12" rev A 867Mhz to Mac Pro quad 2.66 GHz... To think that I kept waiting and waiting for the 8-core:rolleyes:
    This thing is a rocket... :D
     
  17. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #17
    My biggest jump was from a 400 mhz G3 to a iMac G5 1.8 ghz. It was so smooth and didn't lag at all!

    Then I was introduced to Intel.
     
  18. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #18
    I was using a dual-Xeon (netburst) 3.6GHz Dell Precision 670 before the 2x dual-core-Xeon (Core 2) 2.66 Mac Pro. Both with 4GB RAM.

    The difference in speed is unbelievable. The Mac Pro is vastly, vastly faster. I put this down to OS X vs Windows and Core 2 (plus extra cores) vs Netburst in equal measure, but I don't really know exactly why the Mac Pro is so much better. The Dell, btw, has a Raptor as the boot drive - but you'd be hard pushed to tell!

    In all honesty I think the Mac Pro marks a pretty significant leap from whatever computer any of us had before.
     
  19. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #19
    The largest jump for me was from a 1.33GHz iBook G4 to a 2GHz MacBook Pro.

    Planning on buying a Mac Pro this fall when they release new chips. :)
     
  20. mustang_dvs macrumors 6502a

    mustang_dvs

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #20
    If you need an interim boost, the Sonnet Encore really does work nicely in the Cube -- my cube server is rock solid. Provantage sells the 1.8GHz kit for ~$260.
     
  21. fairnymph macrumors 6502

    fairnymph

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    #21
    I'm going from 400 mhz to quad core 3.0 ghz next week. :D

    It's thrilling, isn't it?

    What channels are you trying to record from? Unless they are public networks (NBC and the CW work for me, for example) they are encrypted, and you won't be able to playback.

    Also what app for recording are you using?
     
  22. dkoralek macrumors 6502

    dkoralek

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #22
    Hi,

    Yeah, I've tried public channels (tried different networks, etc.). I've tried iRecord and the stuff in the firewire SDK with no luck. It records stuff, because I get files, but...
     
  23. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #23
    I have had a steady change of speed over the past few years

    366MhZ G3 - 1GhZ G4
    1GhZ G4 - 2GhZ C2D
     
  24. orangemacapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #24
    i went from a 1Ghz emac to a 2Ghz mb c2d. it seems SLOWER

    but that's got a lot to do with now i'm wireless (printing and ext hdd) and a 2-1/2" drive is slower than a 3-1/2"


    but i'm still happy
     
  25. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #25
    Centris 610 @ 0.020GHz x 1 --> Mac Pro @ 2.66GHz x 4

    That's 133 fold increase in processor speed (not counting the fact I have 4 CPUs vs. 1). You guys don't even come close :D
     

Share This Page