802.11 wlan adapter on MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by midniter, May 30, 2014.

1. midniter, May 30, 2014
    Last edited: May 30, 2014

midniter macrumors regular

midniter

Consider me a computer noob here :p Esp when it comes to hardware stuff.

I am having problem getting wifi bars in my room upstairs. I am getting 2 out of 5 bars, while my cable modem is downstairs. I know there is something called a booster that plugs into the wall socket and maybe provides a signal bounce. I saw some on amazon.

I found a 802.11 wlan USB thing from Trendnet lying around. I actually have no idea what this thing is or what it does.
    I inserted it into the MBP and in the Device mgr it is showing as :-
    - ? Other devices
    -------- ? 802.11 n wlan

My question is :-
    Inserting it into the USB port of the macbook pro and installing its driver. What will this do ?

2. simonsi macrumors 601

simonsi

It would replace or be an alternative wireless connection but it will likely be no different or faster than the built-in wireless in the MBP.

If your problem is weak WiFi signal from the cable modem then that is what you have to address with a signal repeater or by using a more powerful wireless access point attached to the cable modem by an ethernet cable.

3. midniter thread starter macrumors regular

midniter

Out of curiosity the 802.11 n WLAN is an older technology than the wifi adapter built in to the MBP ? or in nowadays laptops. So what would we call the built in device ? Is there a different name for it ?

Also.....

1. Is it possible for desktops to connect via Wifi ?
    2. Is it possible for desktops to connect via Wifi using this 802.11 n WLAN USB device ?

4. simonsi macrumors 601

simonsi

Depends what MBP model/year you are talking about, my Early-2011 is "n", the USB adapter you have is "n" so are essentially the same.

1. Yes you can connect desktops via WiFi