802.11AC upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by boomhower, Jun 26, 2012.

1. boomhower macrumors 68000

boomhower

When that is finalized will anyone make upgrade kits? I'm new to the mac world. In the PC world the wireless cards were replaceable. It isn't always easy but you can get to them. Is this possible in the Mac world or are they soldered on? AC really really interests me. I'll do a dongle if I have to but really don't want to.

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

They're not upgradable in Mac notebooks.

3. theBostonian Suspended

According to iFixit, they are removable.

Attached Files:

4. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

Why are you so determined to 802.11ac anyway?

What service do you consume that will utilise the (theoretical) additional throughput?

5. FrancoisC macrumors 6502

FrancoisC

According to multiple ifixit teardown, the wi-fi card is just that, a card.

For most Mac it's not a "standard" mini pci-e, but I'm guessing if there is enough interest someone will make one, like they did for the MBA ssd.

Anyway by the time AC become widespread enough, it might be more practical to just sell your old laptop and get a new one.

6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Removable, but not upgradable, since there are no upgrades available. I doubt there ever will be.
    This is much more likely.

7. theBostonian Suspended

I appreciate that but he was asking (in the second part of his post) whether they were soldered on or not.

8. boomhower thread starter macrumors 68000

boomhower

Back-ups mainly. My router is full. So every time I want to do a backup I have to pull out the playstation or something else to plug up. Larger transfers between computers as well.

9. double329 macrumors 6502