802.11n on New MacBook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by MacBook08, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. MacBook08 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    #1
    Hi, I received my Aluminum MacBook about three days ago. So far the experience has been amazing.

    However, I just found out today that 802.11n is not enabled on my MacBook. I do understand that extra software is required to enable 802.11n. The problem is, I have an AirPort Extreme 802.11n Router and I installed the utility, and everything included on the disc that it came with, on my MacBook. Why is my 802.11n not working? If I buy the enabler from Apple's website for $1.99, can I trust it to work?

    Has anyone enabled 802.11n on their Aluminum MacBook yet?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Did you install this update?

    On a side note what are you using to confirm you're getting a 802.11n connection?
     
  3. MacBook08 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    #3
    No I haven't installed that update yet. Question: Why has Apple removed that update though? I'm not quite sure I understand the second question.
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    How do you know that you're not getting 802.11n speeds?
     
  5. MacBook08 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    #5
    Oh, I opened network utility and this is what I got:

    [​IMG]

    I've seen screenshots with 802.11n enabled, 802.11n is supposed to be listed under Wireless Network Adapter.
     
  6. Woz Beard macrumors regular

    Woz Beard

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    How odd. I don't have n enabled on my MB.

    How can I enable it?
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    Well you are getting the 130 Mb/s speed that is 802.11n speeds. I've noticed that the new MacBooks might not be reporting 'n' support though.
     
  8. Kane.Elson macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #8
    Is it an old model ? You are meant to pay for their utility ... biggest rip off ever...
    If you have a new model it should be enabled ...
     
  9. mcruzader macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #9
    Its weird because mine isn't saying n either but am connected at 130MB/s which is n.
     
  10. jdwingnut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    In the Redwoods, California
    #10
    I phoned Apple tech support earlier today. They told me it's just a glitch in the OS software code and the "n" is just not showing., but as you can clearly see, the speeds are more than twice what g can support.

    Also mentioned was that a likely update in the near future would remedy this discrepancy in the Network Utility App.
     
  11. MacBook08 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    #11
    Thanks very much.
     
  12. LSUtigers03 macrumors 68020

    LSUtigers03

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #12
    I 802.11n worth it? I have a 2.16GHz MacBook. Would I be able to see improved speeds?
     
  13. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #13
    Only if ALL the other equipment on your network is 'n' enabled.
     
  14. LSUtigers03 macrumors 68020

    LSUtigers03

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #14
    I have an 'n' wireless router. Is there anything else I need?
     
  15. fasacrifice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #15
    Mine says 802.11 a/b/g too. But the Link Speed is 54 Mbit/s.

    I couldn't find any solution for that. Any ideas?
     
  16. paj macrumors regular

    paj

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    Mine is also missing the 'n', but my speed is good.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Beric macrumors 68020

    Beric

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #17
    My May 2007 Macbook page looks identical to that of everyone's here (130 Mbit/ sec) except that it says it has wireless N.

    Must be a typo on Apple's part. :rolleyes:
     
  18. bogg macrumors 6502

    bogg

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    Sweden
    #18

    130Mbit/s is N:s "Low interference" mode or "backwards compatibility" mode.

    If it finds plenty of 802.11G networks in the vicinity or rather too much interference from anything and/or 802.11G clients connected to your AP it won't go higher than that.

    Check to see if your AP has some "High interference"-mode, some have, some doesn't (Not sure about APE though)
     
  19. pw1388 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #19
    get closer to your router. lol. the speed depends on the distance your connecting to the router.
     
  20. Eric S. macrumors 68040

    Eric S.

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, California
    #20
    Do you have another, slower system also connected to your network?
     
  21. fasacrifice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #21
    I think the problem is on my router. I'll try it with another router and let you know.

    Thanks a lot
     
  22. fuzzielitlpanda macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #22
    i'm also seeing 54 Mbit/s under Link Speed, but I think that's because I have a wireless G router.
     
  23. Chaos123x macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #23
    Don't you have to buy the update for like $2 ?
     
  24. macbooker15 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Hello! I'm over here!
    #24
    Only in macbooks manufactured before Early 2007 I think....
     
  25. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #25
    Not true. Here's my MBA with a TimeCapsule
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page