802.11n router, MBP shows 54Mbps

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MoodyM, Feb 18, 2011.

  1. MoodyM macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #1
    …any idea how I get to to connect at N speeds?

    I know some old Macs had to buy an "N Enabler" app from Apple, but I didn't think my Mid-2010 i5 17" MBP needed it.

    The router is a Netgear DGN3500 and is set to "Up to 270Mbps" (the other options are "Up to 130Mbps", "g only" or "b/g".

    Thanks
     
  2. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
  3. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
  4. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #4
    If you have G devices on an N network, the network will slow to 54Mbps.
     
  5. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #5
    iPad and iPhone 4 should support 802.11n default not sure about the printer or the mac mini though. Check there specific specs.
     
  6. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #6
    Mac Mini's airport is off, it's connected by Gigabit Ethernet

    So if I turn off my HP Printer, the MBP's Link Speed should go up?

    Seems a bit of a con that you buy an 802.11 router and have to switch off certain devices to get N speeds!
     
  7. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #7
    Agreed :mad: I have the same issue. Though I could resolve it by making all the G devices connect to a separate router which I actually just thought of now ha.
     
  8. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #8
    My DGN3500 router allows me to broadcast more than 1 SSID - could I create a separate one for the "g'" devices?
     
  9. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #9
    Not sure about that one to be honest...you could try it and check the speed difference though. Go into settings though as it might only let you use N for both or G for both...
     
  10. tdgrn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    #10
    It depends...
    If you router is dual band (broadcasts signal on both 2.4 & 5 GHz) then you should be good... however I have G devices on my Airport Extreme at home... 1 SSID, and I get N speeds on N devices, G speeds on G devices...

    I'm betting your router only broadcasts on 2.4GHz
     
  11. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #11
    No, you created a network that supports 'G' devices.

    Create an 'N' only network, and while none of your 'G' devices will be able to connect, you'll get full speed to your MacBook Pro.

    Is there any specific reason that 54Mbps isn't fast enough for (out of curiosity)?
     
  12. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #12
    Transferring 2GB, 4GB, sometimes 20GB HD movie file from my MBP to my Mac Mini.

    Ok, I turned all g devices off, so all that was connected to the network was Gigabit Ethernet devices and my MBP.

    STILL the Link Speed shown in Network Utility is 54mbps! Arggghhh!
     
  13. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #13
    How far are you away from the AP? The MBP may be throttling down due to signal quality.

    Otherwise i'd buy a cheapy 20 dollar router from office depot and hand that out to your G/N clients while making the netgear N only, 5 GHz if available.
     
  14. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #14
    Click on the AirPort icon in the menu bar while holding ALT. What is the PHY mode?
     
  15. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #15
    802.11g.

    I've now turned off EVERY network device in my house, even the wired ones, except the MBP and DGN3500 router. The MBP is about 8 feet away from the router, in the same room. STILL it says 54mbps.
     
  16. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #16
    Ok, I realised my router was set to WPA security.

    I then read the following in the router's setup page:

    "WPA-PSK (Wi-Fi Protected Access Pre-Shared Key ) - use WPA-PSK standard encryption. This option is only available for the g & b wireless mode.

    WPA2-PSK (Wi-Fi Protected Access Pre-Shared Key ) - use WPA2-PSK standard encryption. This option is only available for the g & b wireless mode.

    WPA-PSK + WPA2-PSK (Wi-Fi Protected Access Pre-Shared Key ) - use both WPA-PSK and WPA2-PSK standard encryption. A high performance client like the NETGEAR WN511B must connect using WPA2-PSK in order to achieve maximum performance. Wireless clients that connect to this router using WPA-PSK will run at no more than 802.11g speed."

    I took that to mean that in WPA mode, you can't get faster than 802.11g. But in WPA2 mode, you can get to 802.11n.

    I switched to WPA2, and low and behold, the PHY Mode is now "802.11n" and my Link Speed is 144Mbps. Still nowhere near 270mbps, mind you!
     
  17. Genocyde macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #17
    Have you noticed a real world speed difference?
     
  18. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #18
    Yes, i frequently transfer video files to my Mac Mini (which is connected by Gigabit Ethernet to the router).

    An 800MB TV show just took 3 mins to copy from MBP to Mac Mini instead of 5 previously.

    So if I transfer a 16GB HD movie file, I'd imagine it may take an hour as opposed to an hour and 50 mins, say.
     
  19. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #19
    I'm having a similar problem. I have a NETGEAR router thats N, and saying "Up to 150 Mbps," but even with my MBP connected to it its only up to 65. I gave up as I tried everything.


    I'm also using WPA2 security.
     
  20. milbournosphere macrumors 6502a

    milbournosphere

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #20
    Those 54mbps and 270mbps are theoretical values. Just like USB speed ratings, you'll never get what is truly advertised...hence the 'up to' tags on the boxes. If you want a decent speed for large network transfers, break out the gigabit patch cables. ;)
     
  21. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #21
    Agreed about theoretical, but with a theoretical limit of 270mbps, should I expect more than 144mpbs if one device is connected to router by Gigabit Ethernet, the other via 802.11n WPA2 WiFi, less than 8 feet from the router?
     
  22. skidmarc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    #22
    So true. Did this with my A/V system, NAS', printer/copier, desktop...had to buy a gigabit switch...so worth it.
     
  23. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #23
    Just noticed a review that says the following about the DGN3500:

    "145Mbit/s for an 802.11n connection using only a single channel"

    Is this why I only get 144 and not ~270?
     
  24. skidmarc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    #24
    Mixed media interfaces should not interfere with each other. Network throughput is determined/limited by numerous factors.
     
  25. skidmarc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    #25
    In the review I read it mentioned your quote and said that 300Mbit/s was available through channel-bonding.
     

Share This Page