8600M GT, underclocked or not?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by 4np, Jun 5, 2007.

  1. 4np macrumors 6502a

    4np

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #1
    With previous MacBook Pro's the X1600 was underclocked from it's intended clock speed. Has anybody with the new MBP's got a chance to check the clockspeed of the 8600M GT's? Also, is there a difference in clockspeed for the 128 and 256MB versions?

    Thanks! :)
     
  2. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #2
    I'm fairly sure it's underclocked. And I doubt there's a difference in clock speeds between the two RAM versions, but the 17" may run clocked higher.
     
  3. 4np thread starter macrumors 6502a

    4np

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    Any news on this yet? Can someone who already has windows installed check the GPU clock?
     
  4. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #4
    If it is so important for you, you can always overclock it in Windows with cool bits or something similar.
     
  5. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #5
    No Windows drivers yet for the 8600M =(

    I'll try some more third-party drivers in a bit and see if I can OC it.
     
  6. shigzeo macrumors 6502a

    shigzeo

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Location:
    Japan
    #6
  7. jawzzy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    This is probably completely useless, but I happened to ask that same question in one of those Apple Store Chat sessions. "Christy W" said that it wasn't underclocked, but, honestly, I doubt she had ANY idea what the clock speed was or what underclocking means. :rolleyes:

    Anyways, it would be really cool (and I think it IS true) if the GPU could clock way down when it wasn't being used heavily and then come back up or even overclock itself when you fired a demanding application up. Anyone know?
     
  8. Scaryclouds macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #8
    There is software out there that does that, it came with my system. "Ai Booster" by ASUS, has a thing called NOS that over clocks your system on demand. You can even under clock it as well. I'm sure there is other software like this out there.
     
  9. 4np thread starter macrumors 6502a

    4np

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    The 8600M GT contains the following feature for power saving:

    Perhaps this is indeed dynamic clocking?
     
  10. 4np thread starter macrumors 6502a

    4np

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #10
    It is not so important to me; I just want to know what I am buying. Overclocking is always a bad idea in my opinion; especially in such a tight enclosure as the MBP. I'd rather see that the GPU runs at normal clockspeeds instead of being underclocked.
     
  11. aliquis- macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    #11
    I to wonder this, if someone finds out please send me an e-mail at dospam@gmail.com.
     
  12. MGLXP macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    #12
    If someone has the new Macbook Pro with Windows XP or Vista installed, could you please tell us?

     
  13. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #13
    if you tell me how, I'd be happy to do so. I have the low-end model.
     
  14. MGLXP macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    #14
    Install the 101.19 drivers from http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/. Then install something that can tell the clockrate like 3DMark05 or 06. You can also run the benchmark too, which will give an idea about whether it is underclocked or not.
     
  15. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    PC Wizard is good at detecting hardware. It'll even detect stock Vs. overclocked speeds. I'm sure there are many more programs that do it for Windows though.
     
  16. alexjs77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #16
    Also, If you wouldn't mind. Is there anyway you could run a benchmark on your video card and then compare it to the same card with someone's 256mb of memory? That would be awesome.
     
  17. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #17
    i need the ethernet drivers to work too so I can get on the internet to do this stuff. Does anyone know how to fix the ethernet drivers?
     
  18. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #18
    How are you posting then? Just put it on some removable media.
     
  19. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #19
    Those drivers don't work.

    None of the custom drivers do.
     
  20. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #20
    Boot Camp drivers should work fine.
     
  21. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #21
    no no for vista.

    I know they're out there b\c it'll been posted that people fixed it. If i'm going to install these nvidia drivers i might as well do the ethernet too.
     
  22. MGLXP macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    #22
    Everest is also very good.

     
  23. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #23
    no they don't
     
  24. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #24
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=310676

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page