8600M GT vs. 9600M GT?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SnowLeopard2008, Feb 18, 2009.

  1. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #1
    Is the 9600M GT a big improvement over the 8600M GT? I saw benchmarks but I want to know in real-life if the figures still stand true.
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    One is defective, the other isn't. It's not really a question of performance, in my mind.
     
  3. SnowLeopard2008 thread starter macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
  4. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    What are the problems in the new unibodies I keep reading about...I could have sworn it was GPU related. :confused:

    I thought they were both defective.
     
  5. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #5
    its just a time bomb lol
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    No, I didn't. It's beginning to fail now. I'm getting it replaced as soon as possible.

    Obviously for yet ANOTHER defective chip, but...
     
  7. zorahk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Korea
    #7
    leave it to tallest skill to not answer the op's question.
     
  8. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    The new one obviously performs better. Was it even a question?

    The 9400M is worse than the 8600M which is worse than the 9600M, but not by much, other than the defective nature of the 8600M.
     
  9. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #9
    Not all the 8600M GT's are defective. Only about 20% of them, and almost all of those were used in the earlier makes of the early 2008 models or the summer 2007 models.

    The difference isn't huge, but it's there. The 9600M GT isn't a complete redo of the chip, but more of a beefed up 8600M GT, both higher clocked speed, more pipelines, and faster shaders, but this doesn't give a massive improvement and also creates more heat and less battery energy. By the FPS of certain games, and what others have said here, it is a 10-15% difference at most in performance between the 8600M GT and 9600M GT.
     
  10. SnowLeopard2008 thread starter macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #10
    Ok, thanks! that was kind of what I was looking for. For photoshop, final cut, video render, converting video files using handbrake, would the 10%-15% still hold true?
     
  11. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #11
    Most of those programs are more processor intensive then graphics intensive, so no.
     
  12. Ploki macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
  13. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #13
  14. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #14
    What TSE sounds accurate, I have a 2.2 ghz santa rosa mbp w/ 128mb v ram 8600m GT, for a year now with absolutely no video related issues. Of course now that I said this, I'll have to replace my mbp for video issues. :p

    I heard a rumor that the 9600m's have the same issue as the 8600m.

    But as stated above, of course the 9600m will perform better than the 8600m... why else would they make it the next step up if it wasn't better?

    And I think Tallest Skil was just being realistic, not avoiding the question... lol
     
  15. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    What about it? :D
     
  16. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #16
    Probably that since 10.6 will be using the GPU for non GPU related tasks, the new mbp's will benefit from having two additional CPUs (in theory). The old mbp's only have the 8600m and a disabled X3100... So snow leopard will only have two CPUs instead of three.
    Sorry for any lack of clarity in sentence structure, I'm still not use to typing on my iPod.
     
  17. Patriks7 macrumors 65816

    Patriks7

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #17
    I have a feeling from reading this that you are kinda lost about SL.
     
  18. timish macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #18
    HUH??? :confused::confused: :eek:
     
  19. otis123 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    #19
    I call BS on all 9600m gts being defective, my new mbp was made last month, so they have had to fixed it since October, otherwise nvidia will be writing one big check to fix all of this...
     
  20. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #20
    No... I'm not referring to SLI at all, not when it comes to graphics. I'm talking about Open CL and the fact that it is going to use the GPU for non GPU related tasks. I'm assuming that it will take advantage of both the 9600m and 9400m. I guess since it is hybrid SLI it can only use one at a time (even with Open CL), I'm not sure, I'm not a programmer. I know that SLI needs to have two of the same exact graphics cards to use both at the same time. I'm referring to Open CL using the GPU's, I guess it can't use them both at the same time, I don't work for Apple. :p


    And Timish, yes, the GMA X3100 is built into the chipset in the MBP Santa Rosa's, the Intel 965 chipset. I stumbled across this fact using a program called Everest in Windows. Everest tells you everything about your computer and its hardware. I saw that it had info on the 8600m (the dedicated Video Card) and an integrated that read:

    Integrated video card: X3100
    Status: Disabled


    They cannot use hybrid SLI with this video card because Intel does not do SLI, that's an nVidia thing. For ATI it's called Crossfire (I believe).

    The first MBP had the Napa chipset, with an integrated GMA 950 GPU and the ATI dedicated card, disabled GMA 950.
    The next revision had the Santa Rosa chipset, with an integrated GMA X3100 and the nVidia dedicated card, disabled GMA X3100
    The latest revision is not an Intel chipset as many know, it's an nVidia chipset. The integrated is the 9400m and the dedicated the 9600m GT, both enabled as everyone knows using hybrid SLI.
     
  21. timish macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #21
    I think Patrik meant SL as Snow Leopard.

    That's crazy about the disabled X3100.

    I know it's part of GM965 but I am surprised Apple didn't get a customized version.

    Cool, you learn something new everyday. :D




     
  22. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #22
    Wirelessly posted (Nokia 5800 Tube XpressMusic : Mozilla/5.0 (SymbianOS/9.4; U; Series60/5.0 Nokia5800d-1/10.0.010; Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 ) AppleWebKit/413 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/413)

    What he meant was, 'Assuming it wasn't defective, which is better (i.e. faster)?
     
  23. Patriks7 macrumors 65816

    Patriks7

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #23
    Yes, I meant Snow Leopard. You make it sound as if you will have a second processor, but that will hardly be the case. It will not really add too much power unless you blow out your processor regularly, which not many people do as the 2.4 - 2.9 or w/e the 17" is is pretty damn powerful.
    I personally don't expect much from Open CL and I think that it's exaggerated.
     
  24. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #24
    Apologies, and this whole time I thought you just forgot the I in SLI hahaha. Well I guess I'm being optimistic, but you can't blame for Apple has some amazing software engineers. In my opinion anyway. I was more over talking about how Open CL will lessen the load from the CPU to the GPU if needed.
     
  25. MrZebra macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    #25
    so, is that integrated card usable?
     

Share This Page