8800 GT Question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by airfang, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. airfang macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #1
    According to this, older Mac Pros cannot handle 8800 GT...
    My question might be naive but I still want to know: why?

    Is it because older Mac Pros do not have PCI-E slots?
    Is it because Mac Pros have different interface standards for videocards that those videocards are made to fit them?

    Say if I buy a Mac Pro, can I use 8800 GT purchased from elsewhere (or even 2 of them for SLI)?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    I have a good feeling you're not going to read this thread.

    The Mac Pro (Mid 2006) is EFI 1.1 (EFI32) and the Mac Pro (Early 2008) UEFI 2.1 (EFI64). The video BIOS on the 8800 GT is only UEFI 2.1 (EFI64) compatible.

    64-bit EFI is backward compatible with 32-bit hardware. Which is why the HD 2600 XT works on the current and previous Mac Pros.
     
  3. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #3
    Mac Pro doesnt support SLI/Crossfire
     
  4. MikeL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    #4
    You might want to read some of the topics on the first page of this forum.

    Why are people so lazy?
     
  5. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #5
    If you buy graphic cards that are not from Apple, they are only going to work in Windows on your Mac.

    Mac Pro supports SLI, but only in Windows.
     
  6. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #6
    It doesnt. The motherboard must support sli, and Windows don't change it
     
  7. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #7
    SLI has been done in Windows on the MP using some of the 7xxx series of GeForce cards. Obviously, we won't know about the 8800 until it ships.
     
  8. airfang thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #8
    Thanks guys for the info, sry for not doing a thorough research...I was in a hurry when I thought of the question. :apple:
     
  9. bubez macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Location:
    Trieste, Italy
    #9
    I think that was made using hacked drivers. Whithout an nvidia chipset on board the forceware disables SLI.
    Just for reference, the Intel skulltrail platform (which is equal to that of mac pro), in order to support sli, has a nvidia chip on the mb (the one used to enable sli on notebooks, if I remember right).
     
  10. timb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    #10
    With special drivers you can do SLI sans NFORCE. (It's buggy though and has negligible performance gains.)

    Crossfire, on the other hand, can easily be setup as it has a native mode that doesn't require special chipsets. You will need drivers direct from ATI instead of the ones that ship with Boot Camp.

    Also, seriously. Do a search or read the first gorram page. This topic has been covered ad nauseam.
     

Share This Page