8G or 4G for macbook pro15''

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by titosh181, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. titosh181 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    #1
    Assuming that i Want to run the operating system Windows 7 and Mac simultaneously .
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    If you mean via VM, 8GB, depending though on what you want to run in Windows and Mac OS X, as one can get by with 4GB (2GB set for Windows VM).


    Btw, it is called "GB", as "G" also often stands for "Generation".
     
  3. titosh181 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    #3
    Yes I mean a virtual machine

    Yes I mean a virtual machine, I'm not a gamer I just do not want the computer to be slow,
     
  4. gorskiegangsta, Jul 10, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 10, 2011

    gorskiegangsta macrumors 65816

    gorskiegangsta

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #4
    Then I would really recommend getting an 8GB RAM upgrade. This is precisely why I upgraded to 8GB - there had been significant lag (page-out activity) while running Windows 7 in Parallels (with only 1gb dedicated to it) with 4GB stock RAM.

    That didn't work for me. I had only 1gb dedicated to Win7 in Parallels and yet, I only had ~200mb RAM left to run all applications in OS X.
     
  5. AFPoster macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    I only have 4gb ram on my new 2011 MBP i7 2.2ghz and i have no lag on Windows 7 Pro, then again I use Bootcamp and not a VM. Might be my advantage.
     
  6. sporadicMotion macrumors 65816

    sporadicMotion

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Your girlfriends place
    #6
    4 will work but the host os can feel starved and you will have a lot of page outs. 8 is a good safe bet and is quite cheap.
     
  7. titosh181 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    #7
    200$ it is not Cheap......

    200$ it is not Cheap......
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    You can get 8GB for less than 100 USD, unless you are not located in the US.
    Maybe have a look at the link I provided (I am too lazy now to copy&paste links from there), as there are links to compatible RAM for US bound citizens.
     
  9. titosh181 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    #9
    And it does not eliminate the responsibility of Apple?

    And it does not eliminate the responsibility of Apple?
     
  10. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #10
    It does not void the warranty, but the new RAM is not covered by Apple, but by the manufacturer of the RAM.
     
  11. titosh181 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
  12. blackbinary macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #12
    you need to grab a 8GB kit, because the mac comes with 2x2GB.

    You can get them for about $60 from newegg.
    It doesn't void the warranty.
     
  13. bjett92 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    #13
    Check out macsales.com for RAM. High quality products and great customer service. I would never purchase RAM from Apple as it's always at least double the price you can get from another retailer.
     
  14. Fishman Dan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    #14
    +1. Do it, you want be disappointed, and the upgrade is relatively cheap for the outcome.

    8 gb if you want to entertain running W7 in anything other than Bootcamp. Since upgrading I can seamlessly run both OS'es simultaneously without slow-down of either. Previously my W7 would take forever to boot running as a VM (in Parallels) with only 2 Gb allocated to it.

    Having 8 Gb means you can allocate a full 4 Gb to your W7 VM, and therefore run the x64 version.
     
  15. Young Spade macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Florida
    #15
    I'd go for 8. It isn't that expensive. I used to run Parallels with a 4GB RAM Blackbook. Although it was doable and the computer didn't really lag, there was definitely room for improvement. If you want each OS to be seamless and not show any visible fault, I'd get 8 gigs.
     
  16. lindstedt56 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    #16
    Macsales is good but 8gig ram is still 85.00. you can get a namebrand set on newegg for 60.00 or less now.
     
  17. Macsavvytech macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #17
    G is acceptable for those that run java via command prompt -Xmx2G would mean a maximum of 2GB of RAM for the java virtual machine
     
  18. AFPoster macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC

Share This Page