8Gb 1333Mhz RAM in Mid 2010 13" MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AlexBass, Jul 14, 2012.

  1. AlexBass macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    #1
    So my 2X4Gb RAM recently stopped working, yes, it just stopped working. So I bought some more RAM, but accidentally bought 1333Mhz instead of 1067Mhz. Now, I know it is possible to underclock them, but only manually (http://tadija.tumblr.com/post/3641585420/how-to-install-2x4gb-ddr3-1333mhz-in-macbook-pro-13 , http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OJYDhOfRYEg) .

    When I put in 1X2Gb RAM and 1X4Gb RAM (6Gb) it doesn't boot up at all, the screen remains blank and makes a beep sound. However, others report that the screen lights up to the apple logo, but the loading bit stops and the OS loading process goes no further.

    I'm running Lion 10.7.4 if that changes anything.
     
  2. AlexBass thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    #2
    Oh, and will installing snow leopard again help?
     
  3. 01mggt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #3
    If I am not mistaken 1333 will fall back to the slower speed with no issues on most systems. I could be mistaken. Also a lot of times systems won't work right without two matching sticks. Never had much luck trying to run 2 sticks od different capacities and timing.
     
  4. AlexBass thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    #4
    That's exactly what I thought, as have A LOT of other people. The 13" 2010 Macbook pro is the very rare exception in which 1333Mhz will not work at all, unless with another working module. However, when I try with another module, nothing happens.
     
  5. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #5
    The ram has to support being able to downclock to 1067 mhz. It is possible that ram does not support it.
     
  6. ixodes macrumors 601

    ixodes

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Coast, USA
    #6
    If you install 1333 Mhz ram in a Mac that is supposed to have 1067Mhz in place, your computer will operate just fine, at a bus / ram speed of 1067.

    All ram is backward compatible, so the 1333 modules will run at 1067. There's no exception to this.

    If your computer does not run properly after installing the ram, there are only two possible problems.

    You may have bad ram which is relatively rare, or more likely you have a bad slot, or some other issue as the cause.
     

Share This Page