8gb + 2gb = 10gb ram?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by suresh31, Jun 24, 2012.

  1. suresh31 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #1
    I am getting the new non-retina MBP and I want to upgrade the RAM by adding a single 8GB stick rather than a pair of 4GB sticks since both are same cost and single 8GB stick will allow me to add another 8GB stick later.

    Anybody did this? any side effects of having 2GB in one slot and 8GB in another slot from different manufacturers? my guess is it shouldn't matter but just want to check it if anyone did this.
     
  2. Rajpdx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #2
    It will be ok but it's faster with the same amount in each slot

    Q - are you sure you need 16gb?

    Q - Have you shopped around - prices have fallen recently quite a bit.
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    There is a slight advantage to having matched pairs, but not as much as increasing RAM. The question is, do you really need 16GB?

    MR Guide to Matched RAM on Intel Macs
     
  4. suresh31 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #4
    I may need in future but I am not sure. If I buy 2x4GB and When I do need 16GB, I have to throw these out and buy 2x8GB ..

    2x4GB(56.99) is same price as 1x8GB(56.99) .. and 2x8GB(56.99 x 2) is less cost than buying 16GB pack(119.99) which is nothing but 2x8GB in a single pack.

    ----------

    Also noticed Corsair Vengenance 4GB sticks have 9-9-9-24 latency and 8GB sticks have 10-10-10-27 latency .. not sure if that even matters.
     
  5. asdad123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #5
    Here's 16gb ram for only $100


    Theres only one review because I guess they just released the 1600 version. The 1333 version is selling for only $75 for 16gb, and it is 4/5 stars (my friend actually has a pair of the 1333 ram in his early 2011 model and its working great).

    I would just spend the extra $40 and get 16gb outright instead of messing around with the 8gb+2gb

    Theres only one review because
     
  6. TDelanote macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    #6
    Does it work?

    i want to try the same thing but does it work?!
     
  7. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #7
    If its the same speed yes it will work.
    But to have the best results meaning the fastest speed, you need to have 2 same sticks.
     
  8. NintendoFan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #8
    Doing it right now. Works fine.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. TDelanote macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    #9
    will 2 times 4GB be faster then one 2Gb and one 8GB?
     
  10. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #10
    The speed gain from dual channel support is 10% or so, thus more RAM (if really needed) will be much better than a 10% speed gain with less RAM.
     
  11. etn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #11
    You might want to be wary about Corsair Vengeance for the 2012 MBP:
    As far as I know, Corsair Vengeance is 1.5V RAM whereas the 2012 (Ivy Bridge) MBP requires 1.35V.

    My 2 cents,
    ETN
     
  12. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #12
    FWIW ... My 2012 MBP came with 2 x 2GB 1.5V Elpida modules. EBJ20UF8BDU0-GN-F

    Check page 5, "Nominal module voltage": http://www.elpida.com/pdfs/E1795E20.pdf
     
  13. teknikal90 macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #13
    just get it. if it doesnt work, take out the 2gb.
    you wont notice much differewnce between 8gb vs. 10gb ram anyway.
     
  14. sevoneone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #14
    I always used to tell people to get the most RAM possible as it was the single component that would have the biggest impact on performance. Today I would recommend upgrading to an SSD before maxing out a system's memory. However, RAM is still one of the best upgrades you can do, and if you are going to do it, it is worth it to get the most possible.

    Don't pay attention to others that say 2gb of memory will not make a difference. You will be surprised how quickly you can utilize 8GB of ram just multitasking everyday stuff. Or, think about it this way. 2gb of RAM is about the perfect amount to run a virtual machine on Windows without limiting performance.


     
  15. Amitvirat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    #15
    Hey NintendoFan.. Is your Mac still working great with the 8+2 GB configuration?? I am also planning for the same combo
     
  16. Amitvirat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    #17
    Fantabulous.. I will get it for me then.. ☺️☺️☺️
     
  17. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #18
    There's no reason it shouldn't work great. People have been using mismatched RAM in computers ever since RAM was sold in sticks. Don't sweat it.
     
  18. Cloudsurfer macrumors 65816

    Cloudsurfer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #19
    I am running 5GB (4+1) and it's been fine for many years.
     
  19. DonCarlos macrumors regular

    DonCarlos

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #20
    You know there will always be some more questions...

    1) Does it matter which stacked slot you put the larger memory in (8 GB) on top slot and 2 GB on bottom slot?

    2) Does it matter on "About this Mac" memory pane, if the 8 GB shows up first or second?

    Just asking, maybe it makes no difference, I was just wondering if one of the slots is read before the other?
     
  20. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #21
    No and no.
     
  21. DonCarlos macrumors regular

    DonCarlos

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #22
    Thanks for the response.

    Other than showing a different order in the display window, when switched, I noticed no change in performance, but I would think the order may indicate what module is used first (but don't really know that).

    Module 0 is actually the bottom physical slot of the stack and looks like this on the display windows, when the 8 GB is in the module 0 slot.

    [​IMG]


    Conversely, when switched, and the 2 GB is in module 0, it looks like this
    [​IMG]


    In any case, what great thing it was to add more memory, edits in picture, running videos, multi-tasking all were noticeably swifter and more stable....most importantly no POD's. That's a first. I wonder if anything beyond a total of 10 GB is even necessary (but I am sure I will find a justification to add a new 8 GB in the future :)).
     
  22. marlon bishop macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #23
    i would invest in a SSD as well or first ! it makes everything load so much quicker.
     
  23. pato.pedroraimundo macrumors newbie

    pato.pedroraimundo

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    #24
    Hi guys!
    I have a 2012-mid MBC 15'' and I decided to buy a single slot 8GB RAM and make a 8GB+2GB both 1600MHz.
    My questions are:
    1 - Can I buy a 8GB DDR3L ?
    2 - If so, it will be fine if it works with a 2GB DDR3 in the other slot?

    Thank you,
    Pato ;)
     
  24. meson macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    #25
    The stock ram is 1.35 V. My single 8GB stick is 1.35 V as well.

    This is what I put in my 2012 13".

    I've never checked to see if I could mix and match ram voltages. Maybe someone will chime in.
     

Share This Page